Down-Home Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this recipe is almost the one my Grandmother made the only changes I make is half cup brown suger and mustard power garlic. No okra 5 stars for Grandma's version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good, I don't usually like black eyed peas and I made these for new years and they were great, Tons of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Really good. I added 2 tbsp crushed garlic and also a half pound of cooked ground meat. This recipe makes a bunch and is affordable, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROKEY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is what I did: I used one of those frozen bags of season blend with onions, peppers, and celery because they're so easy and that's what I had on hand. Then I used bacon instead of hamhocks because I had bacon on hand. I also used a box of chicken stock and some water with chicken bouillon instead of just plain water for extra flavor. And then towards the end I added a tablespoon of butter for a savory flavor. I also omitted the okra because that's not what I had on hand. However note that if you use okra it will thicken the mixture up a lot as okra is a natural thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
good. no okra though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The bomb. I used smoked pork instead and added a can of stewed tomatoes and a stalk of green onions. My family and I loved it. We ate it up in 2 days. I give it 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
excellent i never liked black eyed-peas as a child but wanted my kids to try them out i used this recipie without the okra and to say the least me and my kids loved this!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee with the exception of not adding celery and replacing the onions with shallots since I had no onions on hand and it was still just very bland. nothing really made it pop out enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is one that will stay. We love blackeyed peas. It taste good and its good for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurettaLynne
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was awesome-- so delicious and perfect for New Year's Day. I did read the comments and added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp of powdered garlic, 1/4 tsp of dry mustard. I used ham steaks cut up instead of a ham hock, and cut the salt in half. I also used two cans of blackeyed peas instead of dry. I recommend the frozen okra-- great touch. I put it all in the crock pot for 4 hours on high. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States