Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
HONEY, HUSH!!! These taste just like the ones I grew up eating at church socials and community fish fries, and the Heinz chili sauce is definitely key. The only change I made was to add ground mustard (adding prepared mustard would make them too soupy). You do need to bake this longer than recommended in order for it to firm up like it should. Other reviewers have said to use less sugar - if you're serving this to Southerners and you want it to taste authentic, stick with the recipes recommended two cups of sugar. Served this to guests at two different large cookouts last night & the night before - rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These baked beans are AMAZING. We had a BBQ dinner and served these baked beans along with Southern Pulled Pork (also from this site...and highly recommend as well). The dinner was fabulous and everybody went back for seconds on the beans. After reading reviewer comments, the problem with the "soupy" beans is because most people used Bush's Baked Beans. Although Bush's Baked Beans are great on their own directly from the can, the consistency of Bush's is already semi-soupy, (which is why some reviewers “drained” their beans first) so by adding all the ingredients listed, your end result is very soupy. Also Bush's beans are already flavored so by adding the sugar called for in the recipe makes for a really sweet bean recipe. To avoid all this, you need to use Grandma Browns Baked Beans for the beans called for in this recipe. Grandma Browns Beans are VERY thick (you need a spoon to get them out of the can) and are generally not sweet on their own. Then following the recipe exactly as stated, the beans turned out perfectly! Oh – I did add a good squirt of yellow mustard, but that is the only change I made. I thought a pound of bacon was going to be too much, but it really was not - the recipe is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Awesome!! The best baked beans Ive ever made! Love it! Followed other reviewers comments and only used 1 c brown sugar because we were using Busch's Honey baked beans. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is one of the easiest bean recipes and everyone raved about them. I make these for almost every party. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These beans are great. the Chili Sause is the key. as others stated i halved the sugar, 1 cup is more than enough. i would chop the onions as small as you can and throw them in right before you take out the bacon esp if you're making it for a large group, hide them from picky eaters. but don't be afraid to use a whole onion. Also this recipe is good in the oven or crock pot. I've made this recipe for many functions up to 50 people. it multiples wonderfully and everyone wants this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miah's My Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
YUM!!!I used this recipe, but doubled it because I was taking the dish to a cookout. I did however use half the amount of brown sugar. I have received emails and phone calls from people at the cookout telling me how delicious the beans were. I was also told that this would now be my assigned dish to bring whenever there was a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
WOW WOW WOW is all I can say these were wonderful rich tasting great flavor and a bit spicey! I only used 1 cup of brown sugar because I used Bush's baked beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These are absolutely wonderful! I took the suggestions of others and only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Other additions I made were: I only used about 3/4 of the bottle of chili sauce and then I added about 1 T of mustard, 1 tsp liquid smoke and a few dashes of worcestershire. I also used Bush's original baked beans and drained them before adding. I will use this recipe often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Used Splenda Brown Sugar to make this healtier. Worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is a must at any summer cookout. All of our friends/family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States