Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'll give this a 5-star rating. Perhaps there are even better baked beans dishes out there, but I enjoyed this a lot, and gobbled it all down by myself over four days. I made it almost exactly as written, using just over a pound of applewood-smoked thick-sliced bacon. I baked the dish for only 45 minutes, figuring that the extra 15 minutes wouldn't make much difference. This isn't very healthy, but it is very tasty - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
excellent, with some adjustments for personal taste, the best recipe for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I don't change a thing! I am always asked to bring the baked beans to the bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These came out great. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Good. My 1st time making beans. Used small can pork n beans & small can lite kidneys, halved other ingredients. Drained beans first. Added a squirt of mustard too. Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I double the recipe for pot luck. I don't use brown sugar, use Karo Dark 1/2 cup. Equal parts Chili sauce & 3 Alarm BBQ sauce with 2 shots of Jack Daniels. Sautee onions & Red pepper for 15 minutes...reserve 1/2 the onion/pepper and sautee until onions are a bit brown (adds a nicee texture). Use drained Bushes' beans, black beans, and black-eyed peas. Sprinkle top with bacon bits,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yep! These were great! I followed other reviewer's advice and reduced the sugar, drained the beans, (Bushes), and added a squirt of yellow mustard. I had to increase the servings to 20 for Easter Sunday brunch so the cook time was about 2 hours. Everyone LOVED the beans, went great with ham and potato salad! Thanks for sharing! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
OK - I do not care for these as they are too sweet for my taste. But...all of the neighbors loved um as did my husband! Since I was outnumbered, I gave them five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Photo by AEONFLUX729
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These beans were spicy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEONFLUX729

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I didn't give it five stars simply because it was too sweet. It had a good taste but next time I will cut the sugar in half. I would still recommend this recipe to anyone, someone else might like them this sweet but it was too much for me personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sindarella32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States