Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These were great! I followed others advice and used 1 cup of brown sugar, the beans were amazing! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a very good "traditional" baked bean recipe. Like other reviewers, I halved the brown sugar and thought that was just fine. These were a hit at our barbecue! Update 4/21/13 I have made these several times now, but I've decided to up my rating to 5 stars after this weekend's bbq. The difference this time is that I started with plain organic vegetarian baked beans and then added the other ingredients, using just 1 cup of brown sugar. They were excellently flavored without being overly sweet and syrupy or ketchupy like I feel Bush's beans are. One guest raved that they were the best baked beans she had ever tasted. I think next time I will make one more change and try just 10-12 oz. of bacon instead of a full pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
My Entire extended family loves this recipe so much that I have to bring it to all our family gatherings! 1/2 the sugar is much better. To spice it up a little I like to use the Bold and Spicy canned baked beans! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antiquegrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Excellent Recipe!! I followed the advice of the others and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Too sweet!!! I used one cup of brown sugar instead of the two cups that the recipe calls for. They were good, but I will use 1/2 cup brown sugar next time. I followed the advice of others on this website and drained the beans first. The chili sauce makes the beans a deep appealing color. I didn't use as much bacon as the recipe called for either. My husband liked the beans, but agreed that I should use less brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
easy and oh sooo yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
These beans are awesome! Everyone asks if I'll be making them at my bbq's when they RSVP. The only change I made is adding more bacon because everyone loves lots of bacon. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNMARIES1218

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Terrific! I've made it 3 times now. Once I added another can of beans b/c I needed to feed more people, and that worked just fine. In fact, we liked it a bit less sweet, so that was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These are excellent beans. I also use Bush's Baked beans, cut the sugar in half and I added 2 tbsp. mustard and 1 tbsp. of Apple Cider Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I loved the taste of these, but 4 stars because its kind of cheating to make baked beans when you already start with canned baked beans! Outside of the US these were hard to find, so I used small white beans instead. Had to add something extra to give it more sauce though, so I put in ketchup and worcestershire sauce - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States