Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Recently made this recipe for a backyard BBQ, and they're requesting I make them again for the next family function. Lots of onion, which is a favorite of some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derby, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was great!!! Look no further!! This is your "NEW" and easy baked bean recipe!! Yes, cut down on the brown sugar and add some green bell pepper slivers when sauteing the onions!! Only need half bottle of chili sauce!! It's the key though!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbug123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
The best beans I've ever had. I do not like baked beans but these were awesome. I drained the juice off of the Bush's original baked beans, ran a little water over them and put them in a crock pot with the sauce. I only used 1 cup of the brown sugar and that was perfect. I let them sit in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. They started to smell burnt so I asked my husband to try them. He hates beans so I gave them a shot. They were SO good, I'm glad that I had to try them. I will make this for every BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Awesome! I followed the recipe as is and got so many compliments. Next time though, I think I'll drain the sauce from the Bushes Baked Beans so that the one that I make is even stronger and then it'll also be thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These are delicious...I did as some others and cut the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, and used Bush's original baked beans- plenty sweet, and we ate the leftovers the next couple of nights! Will definitely make these again, especially for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These beans are really great with a few changes. They are the only beans I make now. You only need one cup brown sugar. I also add one tea mustard powder. I rinse the beans well before remixing them with the sauce and baking them otherwise they are too soupy. I get many many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I love this recipe. My friends have said it's the best they've ever had. For me a whole bottle of chili sauce is too spicy. Half a bottle works well. Also you can throw your cooked onion and bacon into a crock pot with the other ingredients on low and forget about it until you're ready to serve it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes based on what I had and personal preference. I used 12 oz center cut bacon, snipped into small pieces and then cooked in a glass bowl in the microwave until browned. I then drained the bacon on papertowels and used the same bowl to mix everything together. Since I like my beans more on the tangy side I only use 1/2-1 cup of brown sugar. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were very good and easy baked beans. After reading the reviews I also just used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I might not add as many onions next time - but it was still extremely good, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States