Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is a really good recipe. The beans were very, very good. I did cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup because the beans I had (Bush's Homestyle) already had brown sugar in them. Also, the bacon I keep isn't 'regular' bacon, but Nueske's Applewood Smoked (the BEST bacon in the world!!!). I actually had guests taking baked beans home and then calling back to compliment again. That's gotta be pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good baked beans! I was a little concerned about the chili sauce, but put the whole bottle in, used 1 cup brown sugar (beans were flavored with brown sugar), followed the directions and enjoyed some of the best baked beans I have ever eaten! My wife thinks we should use 1/2lb. of bacon the next time we make them ... guess I will, but I really liked the bacon. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
If I could give this more stars I would. My son doesn't like any beans, I got him to try this - he loves them. I used one can of Bush's maple baked beans an two cans of pork and beans,'cus that's what I had,splenda brown sugar and I had have the amount of chili sauce. Still just wonderful. I've made this twice already and will make again for the fourth of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
real good, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Leisenring, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Recently made this recipe for a backyard BBQ, and they're requesting I make them again for the next family function. Lots of onion, which is a favorite of some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derby, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was great!!! Look no further!! This is your "NEW" and easy baked bean recipe!! Yes, cut down on the brown sugar and add some green bell pepper slivers when sauteing the onions!! Only need half bottle of chili sauce!! It's the key though!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbug123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
The best beans I've ever had. I do not like baked beans but these were awesome. I drained the juice off of the Bush's original baked beans, ran a little water over them and put them in a crock pot with the sauce. I only used 1 cup of the brown sugar and that was perfect. I let them sit in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. They started to smell burnt so I asked my husband to try them. He hates beans so I gave them a shot. They were SO good, I'm glad that I had to try them. I will make this for every BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Awesome! I followed the recipe as is and got so many compliments. Next time though, I think I'll drain the sauce from the Bushes Baked Beans so that the one that I make is even stronger and then it'll also be thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These are delicious...I did as some others and cut the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, and used Bush's original baked beans- plenty sweet, and we ate the leftovers the next couple of nights! Will definitely make these again, especially for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These beans are really great with a few changes. They are the only beans I make now. You only need one cup brown sugar. I also add one tea mustard powder. I rinse the beans well before remixing them with the sauce and baking them otherwise they are too soupy. I get many many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States