Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent, but with plain canned pinto beans instead of canned baked beans. This one is now in my permanent file of go-to yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These are soooo good! I cooked them a little longer than called for because I worried they were a little too runny. After taking them out of the oven and sitting for about 10 minutes, they were the perfect texture. I served this with a salad and ribs. Perfect meal. I can't wait to taste them again next time I make them because there are no left overs! (I had seven for dinner and they ate them all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carla dee
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome!!! My husband has never cared for baked beans ... Until I made this recipe. He was amazed how delicious these beans are. No need to change a thing. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
1/4 cup brown sugar is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Sallemi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a keeper, but I did use only 1 cup brown sugar and added a tsp of Wrights Liquid Smoke and a Tablespoon of molasses. Used a Vadalia onion. I cooked about 1/2 lb of bacon in the oven on parchment paper for about 23 min (don't let them touch)at 400 degrees. Great raves. I cooked the beans in an iron 4qt pot in the oven for about 1 1/4 hrs uncovered at 350. They were not soupy. I used Bush's Original with bacon and maple. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
After reading some of the reviews I did the following: used generic baked beans, used the whole bottle of chili sauce, used 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar. Then I baked it for 2 hours at 350 degrees, decided to lower it to 250 for about an hour and then lowered again to 250 for about the last hour. Took it to a cookout and didn't bring any leftovers home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read Reviews...Drain beans, cut sugar in half, cook onion in bacon grease, add 2 tbls bacon grease to beans. (I also added a small squeeze of mustard & 4 dashes of Worcestershire.) AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is the best. All my BBQ guests asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I nice version of baked beans. I made a half-batch but cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and they were plenty sweet for us. I served this with 'Italian Hot Dogs' a personal recipe from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States