Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used this recipes at my famiy reunion , Bake Bean contest ,the only thing that I changed was that i used vandicamp beans . IT truned ot great I won the concest . thanks for a great recipes .Larry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used Bush's homestyle beans and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and added about 2 tablespoons of mustard the second time I made this recipe and it was awesome-5 stars for sure! Recipe "as is" receives 4 stars-pretty good but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Dad loved them! But I was short on time and watching my waist. So I sauteed the onion in non-stick cooking spray with olive oil, and then tossed in a handful or two of real bacon bits. Incredibly easy and saved a gazillion calories of bacon fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I have made this recipe at least half a dozen times, and it is by far the best!! I use 3/4 cup brown sugar, but otherwise follow the recipe as-is. Everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
No brown sugar if using baked beans with brown sugar already in it....Otherwise easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made this for a barbeque this weekend---RAVE REVIEWS-I made this just the way it is written and it was perfect. Fast, easy, and tasty.....Thanks for the recipe Meanjeanne-this will be at all of our barbeques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are sooooo good. Made these yesterday for Easter. Everyone loved them. I only used 1 cup of brown sugar, anymore and I think it would have been too sweet. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Oh my goodness! I just made this for a family gathering and it is the best recipe for baked beans I've ever seen! Soooo many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe. Instead of using multiple pans, I cooked my bacon in a cast iron skillet. I did toss in the onions to saute for the last few minutes the bacon was cooking. After draining, I added everything else into the skillet, and just put the whole pan into the oven. I do prefer it with a bit of mustard, but that's simply a preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Love it and so easy! Have made this for several baked bean connoiseurs who proclaimed these their favorite. They have also won over my bean-hating husband. I do halve the brown sugar (never tried the full amount, but it's plenty sweet with half), and sautee the onions with the bacon, as we only like onions if they are soft. I love trying new recipes so much that I don't remake very many, but this is one that I will continue to make repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States