Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This a terrific recipe!!!!!!! I accidently used Sciracha??? Chinese Hot Sauce before I realized the recipe called for Heinz Chili Sauce. We loved it so much that the second time I used the Sciracha sauce AND some Chili Sauce. Sometimes mistakes are right on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These were good but a bit too Sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I used Bush's Original Baked Beans and as others recommended, I drained the beans well. I fried up the bacon in a large pot, then added the onion. When the onion was nice and soft, I drained off most of the fat and then added the beans and chili sauce. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup yellow mustard and 1/4 cup worcestershire sauce, which really gave it that extra kick. I did not add in any brown sugar. I covered the pot and simmered on the stove top for about 3 hours. It did not come out soupy at all. It was nice and thick. I quadrupled the recipe for a party of 40 people and there were no left-overs. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'll give this a 5-star rating. Perhaps there are even better baked beans dishes out there, but I enjoyed this a lot, and gobbled it all down by myself over four days. I made it almost exactly as written, using just over a pound of applewood-smoked thick-sliced bacon. I baked the dish for only 45 minutes, figuring that the extra 15 minutes wouldn't make much difference. This isn't very healthy, but it is very tasty - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
excellent, with some adjustments for personal taste, the best recipe for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I don't change a thing! I am always asked to bring the baked beans to the bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These came out great. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Good. My 1st time making beans. Used small can pork n beans & small can lite kidneys, halved other ingredients. Drained beans first. Added a squirt of mustard too. Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I double the recipe for pot luck. I don't use brown sugar, use Karo Dark 1/2 cup. Equal parts Chili sauce & 3 Alarm BBQ sauce with 2 shots of Jack Daniels. Sautee onions & Red pepper for 15 minutes...reserve 1/2 the onion/pepper and sautee until onions are a bit brown (adds a nicee texture). Use drained Bushes' beans, black beans, and black-eyed peas. Sprinkle top with bacon bits,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yep! These were great! I followed other reviewer's advice and reduced the sugar, drained the beans, (Bushes), and added a squirt of yellow mustard. I had to increase the servings to 20 for Easter Sunday brunch so the cook time was about 2 hours. Everyone LOVED the beans, went great with ham and potato salad! Thanks for sharing! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States