Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
easy and oh sooo yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
These beans are awesome! Everyone asks if I'll be making them at my bbq's when they RSVP. The only change I made is adding more bacon because everyone loves lots of bacon. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNMARIES1218

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Terrific! I've made it 3 times now. Once I added another can of beans b/c I needed to feed more people, and that worked just fine. In fact, we liked it a bit less sweet, so that was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These are excellent beans. I also use Bush's Baked beans, cut the sugar in half and I added 2 tbsp. mustard and 1 tbsp. of Apple Cider Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I loved the taste of these, but 4 stars because its kind of cheating to make baked beans when you already start with canned baked beans! Outside of the US these were hard to find, so I used small white beans instead. Had to add something extra to give it more sauce though, so I put in ketchup and worcestershire sauce - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very, very good. Cut down the sugar to half of what the recipe calls for and it was perfect!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I also made this exactly as the recipe said, with Bush's Baked Beans. It is indeed a bit sweet, which the kids loved! For a mostly adult crowd, I'd probably use 1/2 - 3/4 cup brown suger instead of 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was a big hit at our family dinner even with the non baked bean fans. I made it exactly as the recipe states and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is the only baked bean recipe I make anymore. It always gets raves. As others have said, 1/2 to 1 cup of brown sugar is plenty. I always cook my bacon first and then saute the chopped up onion in the bacon grease before adding to the beans. And I add a couple squirts of yellow mustard to give it a bit more tang. And I always use Bush's baked beans to start - they seem to be a bit smaller in size and all the kids in our extended family like them better. This dish is awesome to use with leftover chopped up brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States