Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Awesome! I followed the recipe as is and got so many compliments. Next time though, I think I'll drain the sauce from the Bushes Baked Beans so that the one that I make is even stronger and then it'll also be thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These are delicious...I did as some others and cut the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup, and used Bush's original baked beans- plenty sweet, and we ate the leftovers the next couple of nights! Will definitely make these again, especially for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These beans are really great with a few changes. They are the only beans I make now. You only need one cup brown sugar. I also add one tea mustard powder. I rinse the beans well before remixing them with the sauce and baking them otherwise they are too soupy. I get many many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I love this recipe. My friends have said it's the best they've ever had. For me a whole bottle of chili sauce is too spicy. Half a bottle works well. Also you can throw your cooked onion and bacon into a crock pot with the other ingredients on low and forget about it until you're ready to serve it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes based on what I had and personal preference. I used 12 oz center cut bacon, snipped into small pieces and then cooked in a glass bowl in the microwave until browned. I then drained the bacon on papertowels and used the same bowl to mix everything together. Since I like my beans more on the tangy side I only use 1/2-1 cup of brown sugar. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were very good and easy baked beans. After reading the reviews I also just used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I might not add as many onions next time - but it was still extremely good, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this for a bunch of teenagers and they absolutely loved it. Some proclaimed that it was the best baked beans they've ever had! This recipe is a keeper! *The only thing I did differently was cook it in a crock pot instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
These were fantastic. I doubled the recipe but only used one bottle of hot sauce. I am a vegetarian, so I did not try these, but the response was only positive! People were asking what the secret ingredient was. Easy Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Wonderful beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States