Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
1/4 cup brown sugar is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Sallemi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a keeper, but I did use only 1 cup brown sugar and added a tsp of Wrights Liquid Smoke and a Tablespoon of molasses. Used a Vadalia onion. I cooked about 1/2 lb of bacon in the oven on parchment paper for about 23 min (don't let them touch)at 400 degrees. Great raves. I cooked the beans in an iron 4qt pot in the oven for about 1 1/4 hrs uncovered at 350. They were not soupy. I used Bush's Original with bacon and maple. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
After reading some of the reviews I did the following: used generic baked beans, used the whole bottle of chili sauce, used 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar. Then I baked it for 2 hours at 350 degrees, decided to lower it to 250 for about an hour and then lowered again to 250 for about the last hour. Took it to a cookout and didn't bring any leftovers home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read Reviews...Drain beans, cut sugar in half, cook onion in bacon grease, add 2 tbls bacon grease to beans. (I also added a small squeeze of mustard & 4 dashes of Worcestershire.) AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is the best. All my BBQ guests asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I nice version of baked beans. I made a half-batch but cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and they were plenty sweet for us. I served this with 'Italian Hot Dogs' a personal recipe from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent! Followed directions exactly the first time, wouldn't change a thing. The second time, after cooking bacon, onions, I put it all in the crock pot for a few hours on low and it was just as delicious! I used canned pork and beans from Sams as they are not flavored like many of the other baked beans that already have sugar, bbq and spices mixed in. The sugar and chili sauce made an excellent flavor combination. I make double recipe and always take to events as my contribution and get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
People said too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now; for Memorial Day and for the 4th of July (because everyone who had it at Memorial Day requested that I bring it again)! I use the original flavor Bush's Baked Beans. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup, which still makes it plenty sweet because they are already flavored with brown sugar. The first time I made them, I only used a small onion because I am not a big onion fan, but with the amount of the other ingredients, the onion got washed out. So the second time, I used an entire large onion and that was much better. For those saying their beans turned out to soupy, I think maybe you just didn't bake them long enough. I baked my beans for 1 hr 15 minutes the first time and 1 hr 30 minutes the second time, and they turned out great the first time and even better the second. Not soupy at all. I will probably have to make these for every family holiday or cookout from now on. And by the way, the chili sauce is a great touch, but it doesn't really make them "spicy" the way I would have thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States