Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was a big hit at our family dinner even with the non baked bean fans. I made it exactly as the recipe states and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is the only baked bean recipe I make anymore. It always gets raves. As others have said, 1/2 to 1 cup of brown sugar is plenty. I always cook my bacon first and then saute the chopped up onion in the bacon grease before adding to the beans. And I add a couple squirts of yellow mustard to give it a bit more tang. And I always use Bush's baked beans to start - they seem to be a bit smaller in size and all the kids in our extended family like them better. This dish is awesome to use with leftover chopped up brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These baked beans were awsome. I would recommend to drain your beans prior to cooking, as my beans were soupy yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
used pork and beans instead of baked beans, which are pre-sweetened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These were excellent. The chili sauce was great. Everyone loved these beans. I'll make my beans this way from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Wonderful flavor, a little different from most other bean recipes I've tried. The one thing I will change when making it next time is to drain the two cans of baked beans. Mine came out very soupy. Luckily the great flavor made up for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was really good - I like the sweetness and the kick from the chili/hot sauce. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These are a little different, but good nonetheless. Boyfriend absolutely loved them so we will be making them many more times. I recommend cutting the sugar to 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made this recipe tonight for a party! All I heard was "Who made the beans"! I had to give it out to several people, I did however, use only half the brown sugar. These beans are really good. I made a double batch and there were no leftovers! This recipe is one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States