Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I found this recipe in the Taste of Home magazine a few years ago and I've made it numerous times since. I also drain the beans before mixing the ingredients as it is a little soupy if you don't. The recipe is very easy and everyone loves it...even those that don't like beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logandale, Nevada, USA
Living In: Marysvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These beans were really great. My husband liked them alot too. I havent tried them out on a big group yet, but I plan to take them to our next church dinner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
We made these for a 4th of July party. Everyone seemed to like them. I'm not big on baked beans but I liked them and even had seconds. As other posters had recommended, we reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. It seemed to work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is a really good recipe. The beans were very, very good. I did cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup because the beans I had (Bush's Homestyle) already had brown sugar in them. Also, the bacon I keep isn't 'regular' bacon, but Nueske's Applewood Smoked (the BEST bacon in the world!!!). I actually had guests taking baked beans home and then calling back to compliment again. That's gotta be pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good baked beans! I was a little concerned about the chili sauce, but put the whole bottle in, used 1 cup brown sugar (beans were flavored with brown sugar), followed the directions and enjoyed some of the best baked beans I have ever eaten! My wife thinks we should use 1/2lb. of bacon the next time we make them ... guess I will, but I really liked the bacon. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
If I could give this more stars I would. My son doesn't like any beans, I got him to try this - he loves them. I used one can of Bush's maple baked beans an two cans of pork and beans,'cus that's what I had,splenda brown sugar and I had have the amount of chili sauce. Still just wonderful. I've made this twice already and will make again for the fourth of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
real good, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Leisenring, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Recently made this recipe for a backyard BBQ, and they're requesting I make them again for the next family function. Lots of onion, which is a favorite of some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derby, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was great!!! Look no further!! This is your "NEW" and easy baked bean recipe!! Yes, cut down on the brown sugar and add some green bell pepper slivers when sauteing the onions!! Only need half bottle of chili sauce!! It's the key though!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbug123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
The best beans I've ever had. I do not like baked beans but these were awesome. I drained the juice off of the Bush's original baked beans, ran a little water over them and put them in a crock pot with the sauce. I only used 1 cup of the brown sugar and that was perfect. I let them sit in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. They started to smell burnt so I asked my husband to try them. He hates beans so I gave them a shot. They were SO good, I'm glad that I had to try them. I will make this for every BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States