Dovel Family Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love this simple dish. My dad used to make this when we were kids. He added salt, pepper and a little worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I added worcestire sauce.about 3 shakes and it was great! will make this alot.thanks for the recipe.Iused whole milk,did not halve half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
excellent! perfect! exactly how my grandmother made it... simple and delicious! if others want to stick a bunch of other stuff it in - fine - let them do it individually... as for me ... I'll take the simple taste of this delicious oyster stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a simple and easy recipe. I know it may not suit a lot of tastes but it is just like the one my mother made. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKSHIJAY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I grew up with the same tradition on Christmas Eve having Oyster Stew and Chili and I can't tell you how many people think that's strange so maybe we're long lost relatives:). I'm almost postive this is the same recipe that my grandmother used, but once I started making it on my own I added a few things. I like it a little more thick like a stew so a make a reux with butter, flour and chopped onion. Once the oysters have been sauteed in the butter and the reux is done I combine everything, including the half and half into one put and add a splash of worchestire sauce. I love this stew and look forward to passing this tradition on to my own two daughters as long as I can get them to try it. I may have to do what my grandmother did and tell them it's potatoe soup:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Oyster stew has been a family tradition every Christmas Eve, and we also light luminaries. My grandma had everyone over before church, then my parents, and now my husband and I host whoever is available to stop by. I saute the drained oysters in the butter, then add some of the juice from the cans, 2% milk and half-n-half with salt and pepper to taste. We have to have about one can of oysters per person. This is a simple recipe and perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim in Kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I wanted to change a few things on this recipe, it turns my father had copied it down wrong. Although this is a recipe from my dads family, my grandmother taught my mother how to make it. When I fixed a pot last night I was so disappointed, I called mom and discovered dad had given me his
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made almost as written, adding juices and doubling the amount of oysters. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe was easy and tasted delicious. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Just like my grandmothers! The only changes I made is I did add some whole milk and cut back on the half and half. And after cooking the oysters in butter I added salt, pepper and the the drained juice from the oysters back in. Real comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States