Dovel Family Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I wanted to change a few things on this recipe, it turns my father had copied it down wrong. Although this is a recipe from my dads family, my grandmother taught my mother how to make it. When I fixed a pot last night I was so disappointed, I called mom and discovered dad had given me his
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
excellent! perfect! exactly how my grandmother made it... simple and delicious! if others want to stick a bunch of other stuff it in - fine - let them do it individually... as for me ... I'll take the simple taste of this delicious oyster stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Very bland as is. I melted 1/2 cup butter in the pan, added the oysters with the juice, added garlic salt, paprika, and celery seed. Cooked the oysters until done, added 2% milk and heated through. Much better with these additions. By adding the oyster juice it actually tasted like oyster stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Oyster stew is meant to be simple and mild, just like this one! I normally use some half and half and some milk. I love a recipe which never takes away from the main ingredient, the oysters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a simple and easy recipe. I know it may not suit a lot of tastes but it is just like the one my mother made. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKSHIJAY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Oyster stew has been a family tradition every Christmas Eve, and we also light luminaries. My grandma had everyone over before church, then my parents, and now my husband and I host whoever is available to stop by. I saute the drained oysters in the butter, then add some of the juice from the cans, 2% milk and half-n-half with salt and pepper to taste. We have to have about one can of oysters per person. This is a simple recipe and perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim in Kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I grew up with the same tradition on Christmas Eve having Oyster Stew and Chili and I can't tell you how many people think that's strange so maybe we're long lost relatives:). I'm almost postive this is the same recipe that my grandmother used, but once I started making it on my own I added a few things. I like it a little more thick like a stew so a make a reux with butter, flour and chopped onion. Once the oysters have been sauteed in the butter and the reux is done I combine everything, including the half and half into one put and add a splash of worchestire sauce. I love this stew and look forward to passing this tradition on to my own two daughters as long as I can get them to try it. I may have to do what my grandmother did and tell them it's potatoe soup:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love this simple dish. My dad used to make this when we were kids. He added salt, pepper and a little worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I added worcestire sauce.about 3 shakes and it was great! will make this alot.thanks for the recipe.Iused whole milk,did not halve half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This recipe isn't very good - horribly bland. Skip it and open a can of Campbells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States