Dovel Family Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe was easy and tasted delicious. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Just like my grandmothers! The only changes I made is I did add some whole milk and cut back on the half and half. And after cooking the oysters in butter I added salt, pepper and the the drained juice from the oysters back in. Real comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made almost as written, adding juices and doubling the amount of oysters. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I Can see from some of the reviews that adding milk would help a lot, but i did not care for the dish. it was like eating Oysters in a nice butter sauce (that part i liked) but the Half and Half was just too much. it was like drinking creamer. after the meal i felt i wasted some good Oysters ='(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a good recipe. I added 2 tbs. of coriander and one tbs. of paprika. I also didn't drain the oysters. Instead I dumped the can of oysters with the juice in the pot. These things added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Haecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Oyster stew has been a family tradition every Christmas Eve, and we also light luminaries. My grandma had everyone over before church, then my parents, and now my husband and I host whoever is available to stop by. I saute the drained oysters in the butter, then add some of the juice from the cans, 2% milk and half-n-half with salt and pepper to taste. We have to have about one can of oysters per person. This is a simple recipe and perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim in Kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I grew up with the same tradition on Christmas Eve having Oyster Stew and Chili and I can't tell you how many people think that's strange so maybe we're long lost relatives:). I'm almost postive this is the same recipe that my grandmother used, but once I started making it on my own I added a few things. I like it a little more thick like a stew so a make a reux with butter, flour and chopped onion. Once the oysters have been sauteed in the butter and the reux is done I combine everything, including the half and half into one put and add a splash of worchestire sauce. I love this stew and look forward to passing this tradition on to my own two daughters as long as I can get them to try it. I may have to do what my grandmother did and tell them it's potatoe soup:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I added worcestire sauce.about 3 shakes and it was great! will make this alot.thanks for the recipe.Iused whole milk,did not halve half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love this simple dish. My dad used to make this when we were kids. He added salt, pepper and a little worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a simple and easy recipe. I know it may not suit a lot of tastes but it is just like the one my mother made. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Shirah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States