Doug's Killer Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Love this recipe. I also eliminate or reduce the red pepper flakes, as it is hot if you make it the way the recipe is written. Also, I find that after cooking for an hour or two, if you remove the lid and let the sauce simmer uncovered, that it greatly reduces the wateriness of the sauce and makes it even better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This recipe is incredible! I used all the ingredients as written. I wouldn't change a thing. I am throwing out my favorite recipe that I have used for 30 years and replacing it with this one. You can't get any better than this! Oh, I did put it in a crockpot on low for 8 hours instead of on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We both loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good. Loved this sauce. I added a pinch of sugar to combat the acid and used ground sweet Italian sausage but other then that I changed nothing. Yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and add less red pepper flakes and it makes the BEST spaghetti sauce I've ever had. Plus I still have enough to freeze for another meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love this sauce it is so easy! I used it for spaghetti, but I cut down on the tomato sauce to 1 29 oz. can. I like my sauces more thick. The amount was perfect for one pound of pasta. I did use 1 tablespoon of crused red pepper flakes and will cut that amount back to 1 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Tastes just like spaghetti sauce should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I have used this a number of times over the years. Depending upon what I use it for, I tweak it. For spaghetti, I add 1/2 lb of Italian sausage and 1 cup red wine, nixing the red pepper flakes. For sloppy joes, I make it a bit soupier, not cooking it down so much. For chili, I add back in the pepper flakes and add toasted chilis and chili powder. It uses are as limitless as your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Gonna be generous and go with 5 stars. Ok, here we go: first of all, the taste is great. I have some comments, why does the recipe state to divide the onions and garlic? I can't see what you do with them later that would require dividing them. Also, I like to have diced tomatoes in my sauce (personal preference) so I wish that this was different. I think that a large onion should be specified. I think the red pepper flakes were maybe a bit much for this sauce. Overall though, great recipe and yes, very versatile! Easily customizable to suit the individual; spices can be tweaked. This recipe has been out there since 2002 and only 2 reviews..... why??? Great recipe that needs to get more exposure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
i found it to be versitile, and i could freeze any leftovers for another day. i have made sloppy joes with this one and it is quickly becoming a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundalk, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States