Doug's Easy Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The best! All of my family loves it. Using apple cider (Honeycrisp apple cider is fantastic) instead of water like most recipes makes all the difference! I use a little less lemon juice than called for. This is THE recipe for us. I simply quarter the apples (no peeling or coring), cook till soft (takes longer than 20 min.), cool in fridge, then send through food strainer/food mill. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Wonderful recipe Doug! I've made this several times now and plan to make it many more. I've used regular apple juice, and it's still fantastic. I puree it in the blender when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Delightful! My family gets excited when Mom starts making applesauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I filled a big crockpot with sliced and peeled Apples, didn't chop them. Used all the other ingredients and cooked it for about 3 hours on high. Did not messure the other ingredients, used my own judgement. The Apples sauce was just right for my taste. I froze the sauce in plastic freezer bags. So far I filled up a big crock pot 3 times and plan to make more. THIS IS THE BEST APPLE SAUCE I EVER TASTED. USE WHATEVER SPICES SUIT YOUR TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious! This is a lovely applesauce and easy recipe. I left the skins on the apples and used an immersion blender to blend it at the end so that the consistency was right. I also cut the sugar by using a couple of tablespoons of honey, and just a tablespoon of brown sugar. Even with this change it was still nice and sweet. Next time no need for the brown sugar at all. Good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, easy to make. I used a mix of Gala and Macintosh, just happened to be what I had on hand. Did increase both the cinnamon and sugar to suit my own sweet tooth. All of my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Normally I don't change recipes on here since I like to make them as written and THEN tweak if necessary...BUT I didn't have apple cider. So other than using apple juice in place of cider and leaving out the sugar entirely, I made this as written using Gala apples. FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC applesauce. I also made a plain batch w/o cinnamon but with the apple/lemon juice and it's just as good. Great recipe - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Wheaton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Forgot to note in my previous review that I used hard cider (it isn't terribly alcoholic) instead of regular cider. The flavor was wonderful. This is my new, permanent, applesauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wheaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe - just tart enough and sweet enough and perfect amount of cinnamon. I used Melrose apples, and I also opted for the slow cooker (2 1/2 hours on high). It made my house smell great all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this in my small crockpot--just cooked it on a low temperature all day. After it had cooked down, I cooled it a bit and ran it through the blender for a fine consistancy. Perfect applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States