Doug's Easy Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Nothing like homemade applesauce. How eashy is that? Great, I used ginger gold apples. It will be my staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozdodl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suttons Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very nice applesauce. I bought an 8# bag of red delicious apples on sale yesterday, and used 6 of them to make half a recipe. I left it a little chunky because that's the way we like it. The cider that I had in the fridge was "spiced cider," so I cut back a little bit on the cinnamon. Very tasty applesauce with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a wonderful applesauce recipe! I made a double batch today and canned it - beautiful. My apple of choice is Jonathan and this turned out really great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this in my small crockpot--just cooked it on a low temperature all day. After it had cooked down, I cooled it a bit and ran it through the blender for a fine consistancy. Perfect applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe - just tart enough and sweet enough and perfect amount of cinnamon. I used Melrose apples, and I also opted for the slow cooker (2 1/2 hours on high). It made my house smell great all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Wheaton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Forgot to note in my previous review that I used hard cider (it isn't terribly alcoholic) instead of regular cider. The flavor was wonderful. This is my new, permanent, applesauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wheaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Normally I don't change recipes on here since I like to make them as written and THEN tweak if necessary...BUT I didn't have apple cider. So other than using apple juice in place of cider and leaving out the sugar entirely, I made this as written using Gala apples. FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC applesauce. I also made a plain batch w/o cinnamon but with the apple/lemon juice and it's just as good. Great recipe - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, easy to make. I used a mix of Gala and Macintosh, just happened to be what I had on hand. Did increase both the cinnamon and sugar to suit my own sweet tooth. All of my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious! This is a lovely applesauce and easy recipe. I left the skins on the apples and used an immersion blender to blend it at the end so that the consistency was right. I also cut the sugar by using a couple of tablespoons of honey, and just a tablespoon of brown sugar. Even with this change it was still nice and sweet. Next time no need for the brown sugar at all. Good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I filled a big crockpot with sliced and peeled Apples, didn't chop them. Used all the other ingredients and cooked it for about 3 hours on high. Did not messure the other ingredients, used my own judgement. The Apples sauce was just right for my taste. I froze the sauce in plastic freezer bags. So far I filled up a big crock pot 3 times and plan to make more. THIS IS THE BEST APPLE SAUCE I EVER TASTED. USE WHATEVER SPICES SUIT YOUR TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States