Doug's Easy Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Nothing like homemade applesauce. How eashy is that? Great, I used ginger gold apples. It will be my staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozdodl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suttons Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Lynn Wheaton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Forgot to note in my previous review that I used hard cider (it isn't terribly alcoholic) instead of regular cider. The flavor was wonderful. This is my new, permanent, applesauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wheaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very nice applesauce. I bought an 8# bag of red delicious apples on sale yesterday, and used 6 of them to make half a recipe. I left it a little chunky because that's the way we like it. The cider that I had in the fridge was "spiced cider," so I cut back a little bit on the cinnamon. Very tasty applesauce with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I filled a big crockpot with sliced and peeled Apples, didn't chop them. Used all the other ingredients and cooked it for about 3 hours on high. Did not messure the other ingredients, used my own judgement. The Apples sauce was just right for my taste. I froze the sauce in plastic freezer bags. So far I filled up a big crock pot 3 times and plan to make more. THIS IS THE BEST APPLE SAUCE I EVER TASTED. USE WHATEVER SPICES SUIT YOUR TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Normally I don't change recipes on here since I like to make them as written and THEN tweak if necessary...BUT I didn't have apple cider. So other than using apple juice in place of cider and leaving out the sugar entirely, I made this as written using Gala apples. FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC applesauce. I also made a plain batch w/o cinnamon but with the apple/lemon juice and it's just as good. Great recipe - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe - just tart enough and sweet enough and perfect amount of cinnamon. I used Melrose apples, and I also opted for the slow cooker (2 1/2 hours on high). It made my house smell great all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this in my small crockpot--just cooked it on a low temperature all day. After it had cooked down, I cooled it a bit and ran it through the blender for a fine consistancy. Perfect applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I loved this applesauce and I made 3 crockpots full with the apples I had. Went to my local farm and asked if they had "seconds" of their apples from their orchard. They came back with a huge bag of "seconds" which were just slightly bruised or just not pretty enough to sell. I tell you I had at least 40-50 apples of quite a few varieties and there was nothing wrong with them....AND the best part is that is was only $10 for the bag! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/4c and the cider to 3/4 c. I did jar and process the applesauce as I wanted to keep it in my pantry and gift it to others. Thank you for an awesome recipe as I have never used brown sugar and cider before in applesauce. Way better than white sugar and water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Wonderful recipe Doug! I've made this several times now and plan to make it many more. I've used regular apple juice, and it's still fantastic. I puree it in the blender when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was simple and delicious. I made with a variety of apples from a local orchard. Some were softer varieties and others were harder varieties which made for a nice chunky sauce. I doubled the recipe, but really wish I would have had enough apples to triple or quadruple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States