Doughnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These muffins taste like snickerdoodles! My first time making this recipe, the muffins didn't raise as much as I had wanted, so I will probably be using 2 C's of flour next time. My family and friends really liked them. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The first time I made these I followed the recipe exactly and they were pretty good, no complaints. Then I made them again with a few changes : oil instead of shortening, added 2tsp of baking powder, and 1/4tsp nutmeg. Now they are great, my husband asks for these one to two times a week for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texas City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Easy and tasty. I used wheat flour and grapeseed oil, I added oil to the crumble also to hold it together. Tasty but does noot taste like a doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great for a treat with coffee or milk. Check them at 18 minutes. I find the done perfectly at this time. I had no baking powder and was saved by the Internet / 2 parts Cream of Tartar to 1 part baking soda...worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apartment522
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I made doughnut muffins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very good. one thing makes the crumb topping really stick is to dip the top in butter right out of the oven and then into the sugar mix. they will no doubt have a good sugary topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
An excellent muffin! Not sure about tasting like a doughnut but I've decided on calling them snickerdoodle muffins. Very very good and somewhat easy to make, it was my first time baking anything and this was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I think these are very good, but this muffin tastes more like a Snickerdoodle than a doughnut. As others suggested, I will try adding nutmeg in the batter instead of cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I have had this recipe for years. After comparing the two...mine is slightly different, which I think my differences would be an improvement. Matter of opinion I suppose. My recipe calls for 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg in place of the cinnamon, and bakes at 350 degrees. But the main difference, which I believe to be the best part, is.... after baking, immediately remove the muffins and roll in 6 tbls of melted butter, THEN roll into the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Gives the muffins a nice coating. Hopes this helps someone. Other than that. These are loved by my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States