Doughnut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I wasn't going to review this recipe because I didn't follow it as the author intended, but it turned out so well I wanted to give it a 5 star review. I was searching for something I could do with a whole batch of cookies that turned out too cake like and were just sitting in a Tupperware. I found this recipe, and replaced the doughnuts with my cookies and it turned out great! It tastes just like "Budin" which is a dessert made in Peru. So try this recipe with old cake, cookies, muffins... I'm sure it will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Ok so I had some left over raised doughnuts and decided to try this. I didn't have any evaporated milk so i used 1 160z can of thi coconut milk and the rest half and half. It came out beautiful. Has a taste of douhgnuts but a bit like bread pudding also. As others have said this is not the usual bread pudding but then this is not hte usual recipe for bread pudding. I would make it again, maybe trying different kinds of douhgnuts and rolls. A fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I made this with some leftover Krisy Kreme's and it was delicious! Bonus points for creativity on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is really good not a typical bread pudding but definatly a great way to use up doughnuts. I followed the recipe but I didnt cook it in a water bath and it came out great. Dont be afraid to try this you will be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Try dried cranberries instead of raisins for a nice holiday brunch dish; looks very festive. Next time I make this, I'll try chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Donut lovers of the world rejoice, because now we can enjoy our donuts twice! I used 5 large glazed donuts, chocolate, maple and plain, a 9 oz bottle of starbuck's raspberry mocha with a little extra 2 percent milk in place of the evaporated milk, and lemon instead of orange zest (added after all was combined). Used heart shaped silicone cupcake pan, got six filled to the top with a cup and a half extra, so I greased up my favorite coffee mug and poured in the extra. Topped each cup cake with about 1 tbsp semi-sweet choc and baked off for about 50 minutes (heart shaped cupcakes) and 60ish minutes for the mug. DELECTABLE! Will freeze up so I can savor this great use-it-up pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was actually pretty good. I don't care much for the "soggy" bread in bread pudding, but I didn't mind the donuts for some reason. I used plain cake donuts, eliminated the almond extract which I did not have and I used Craisins instead of raisins. I combined it all before I left for work and baked it when I got home. This really would have been great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I liked this recipe. Definitely would not reccomend the addition of sugar if using a glazed doughnut! A nice crust on the top. I skipped the orange zest (I just am tired of it), so maybe it could have been even better. I just prefer the traditional bread pudding. Very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I make this recipe every Father's Day using Krispy Kremes. I always triple this recipe so that I use a dozen doughnuts and bake for about an hour before I start to check on it. I add an additional teaspoon or so of orange extract and some shredded coconut. I place plastic wrap directly onto (not over) the mixture before i refrigerate it. This helps keep it moist, and such that i can press the mixture down several, random times before baking it. This is wonderful served with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisAnomaly
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This turned out incredibly tasty. I used Krispy Kreme donuts as it was what I had. The texture, flavor, etc. will change depending on what is used. I did not use orange zest nor did I use the water bath and it turned out fine. If my camera worked better, the picture would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States