Doughnut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I wasn't going to review this recipe because I didn't follow it as the author intended, but it turned out so well I wanted to give it a 5 star review. I was searching for something I could do with a whole batch of cookies that turned out too cake like and were just sitting in a Tupperware. I found this recipe, and replaced the doughnuts with my cookies and it turned out great! It tastes just like "Budin" which is a dessert made in Peru. So try this recipe with old cake, cookies, muffins... I'm sure it will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I WORK IN A GROCEY STORE DELI AND WE HAVE TO HAVE BREAD PUDDING ON IT, I CAME ACROSS THIS ONE TRYED IT ON ARE HOT BAR AND HAD TO MAKE EXTRA THAT DAY IT SOLD VERY WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was actually pretty good. I don't care much for the "soggy" bread in bread pudding, but I didn't mind the donuts for some reason. I used plain cake donuts, eliminated the almond extract which I did not have and I used Craisins instead of raisins. I combined it all before I left for work and baked it when I got home. This really would have been great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was great. I used leftover original Krispy Kreme donuts and peeled and chopped Granny Smith Apples in place of the raisins. It's not your typical bread pudding but it's wonderful to try something different. I think I might like to try it with vanilla ice cream or some kind of hard sauce over the top if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made this from leftover donuts at my work for my husband to take to his work. The custard was really easy to put together. I did put it in the water bath and it took longer than 45 minutes bake. I omitted the raisins since we didn't have any. One of my husband's coworkers said it wasn't sweet enough for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My Husband and I loved this. I didn't find it too dry, although I did add a bit of milk. I also used more donuts that what was called for. I would defintely make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATASHAW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was so easy and turned out great. I had never had bread pudding so when I served it I didn't have a "sauce" with it. Since it was a little dry alone I scooped everyone some vanilla icecream to go along with it and it turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Fantastic idea for leftover/day-old doughnuts! I made this recipe almost exactly before I even searched the site for it. I had 3 left over doughnuts and 5 eggs that were left over from a dozen that had accidentally frozen. I whipped it all up with some milk, almond and vanilla extract. One step I added instead of just raisins, I sprinkled raisin bran over the top and baked. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Ok so I had some left over raised doughnuts and decided to try this. I didn't have any evaporated milk so i used 1 160z can of thi coconut milk and the rest half and half. It came out beautiful. Has a taste of douhgnuts but a bit like bread pudding also. As others have said this is not the usual bread pudding but then this is not hte usual recipe for bread pudding. I would make it again, maybe trying different kinds of douhgnuts and rolls. A fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is really good not a typical bread pudding but definatly a great way to use up doughnuts. I followed the recipe but I didnt cook it in a water bath and it came out great. Dont be afraid to try this you will be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States