Doughnut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I didn't use dried fruit, almond extract or 2 T sugar. Didn't use hot water bath. Doubled the recipe and made a powdered sugar glaze to dizzle over the top after baking. This is soooo good! A great way to use up leftover doughnuts or the ones that are a day old at the store and on sale. Everyone always wants the recipe to this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by William Hamilton
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I had some glazed doughnuts that went stale and looked online to find what I could use them for rather than throw them in the garbage. After finding this recipe I realized I had twice as many doughnuts and only one can of evaporated milk so I just doubled everything and added half of a salted caramel latte. I also under cooked it about 10 mins since I like bread pudding on the soft side. Thank for posting the recipe, it turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My husband loves to hit the discount bakery rack at Meijer but he often buys too much to eat before it's inedible. I used 2 nutty doughnuts and 2 cinnamon rolls. It was absolutely delicious. I didn't add orange because I didn't have any. I also didn't do the water bath, I just baked it covered for about 75% of the time. I can't wait to get old doughnuts again. It was so moist and delicious! What a cheap, easy dessert with minimal prep! So good with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This wasn't bad but a waste of perfectly good stale donuts. To freshen up stale donuts, zap them for 10 seconds on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiger Didi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
super easy to make, love the less sugar aspect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I've waited several months to make this because I wanted to serve it for Christmas, and it definitely met my expectations. I bought a dozen Krispie Kreme glazed doughnuts, which is the best of the best in my opinion. I used all 12, so I tripled the recipe, which was perfect for a 9x13in baking dish. I followed the recipe exactly, omitting the optional sugar because I didn't think it was necessary, and it was wonderful. It actually wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be. It cooked beautifully, and the appearance was quite attractive as well. I usually add a glaze to bread puddings, but I didn't for this recipe, and I don't think it needed it. However, if you want to, I think it would be good too. Great recipe! I may have to always use doughnuts from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I used about 10 left over Krispy Kreme donuts. Didn't have evaporated can milk; used cream instead and added more sugar - about 1/4 cup. Placed it in a square baking dish and it was delicious!! Crunchy on the outside; moist and flavorful on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Covington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Jelly donuts work GREAT! I had raspberry and grape jelly donuts left over (!) from a Dead Elvis party in August. I froze them and made this recipe for Christmas Brunch. Snip the donuts into quarters when they're still half frozen for best results. I used a little more nutmeg and no orange zest. Elvis would approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisAnomaly
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This turned out incredibly tasty. I used Krispy Kreme donuts as it was what I had. The texture, flavor, etc. will change depending on what is used. I did not use orange zest nor did I use the water bath and it turned out fine. If my camera worked better, the picture would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States