Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These were very easy to make, but I had to add quite a bit more water throughout the process to keep the dough at a workable consistency. They did start puffing quite a bit in the oven so I turned the heat down to 300 and all was well. I also only baked them for about 40 minutes (and mine were about 1/2" thick). Turned out very cute decorated with fabric paint. I will make these again, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fourpiesmama
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a fun and easy project. I halved this recipe and found I needed a touch more water to yield a nice, smooth dough. I mixed mine up in the kitchenaid, so I didn't have to knead by hand. It rolled out nicely with a touch of flour. I made small hearts with my boys and we did some with holes punched with a straw, and some with the paperclips that Cheryl (1st reviewer) suggested. I think I like the clean look of the clip as a hanger. Then just painted then and added 2 coats of mod-podge to seal and get a nice finish. They were fun to do and so cute. We are giving them as necklaces with our valentines cards this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
300 degrees for 1 hour + 30 minutes cooling. I decorated these with Sharpies and glitter. They turned out really cute because I used miniature cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was SO easy and SO much fun! I think I will have to make this a tradition with my kids! They had just a great time playing and cutting out the dough and especially painting them! They make great little gifts for grandma's and grandpa's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The kids enjoyed this. I colored an additional half batch using various paste colors, wet the surfaces with a little water before adding colored pieces. Made a LOT of ornaments (about 50 for the 1.5 batches). Used a straw to make holes. Baked at 200 degrees for a couple of hours, no puffing. They didn't spread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I really liked this recipe. The only problem I had was that the ornaments puffed up a little. I had varying thicknesses (from 1/4 inch. thick to about 1/2 inch.) and they all pretty much puffed up. I did do something fun though. I added food coloring to little portions of some of the dough and used the colors as accents. Example: white snowman with blue and orange scarf, black and red hat, and black eyes and buttons. It just brushed the snowman with a little water when I was ready to apply the pieces. They came out super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My ornaments came out great but I followed some of the advice, I cooked at 200 for an hour+ and I ended up having to use a bit more water than a cup and a half. I think the low slow prevented the puffing. I also flipped the cookies half way through to prevent them from curling up. I covered them in glitter and they look stunning. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Other than a little puffiness, this recipe worked. I let kids cut out heart shapes to make Valentine's magnets for their parents and these were light enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My first grade brownie troop loved this. We used a straw to make a hole for hanging. I am going to use this recipe for my 3rd grade troop on Valentines day to make magnets also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
my son and I made these for Christmas the other day and we had a blast. I added cinnamon to the dough and it smelled wonderful.. They made really cute ginger bread boys to hang on the tree. Thanks.. Will use again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States