Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used a similar recipe but with more salt. 2 cups flour to 1 cup salt with 1 cup warm water. It was very easy to make and rolled out very well. My kids loved making and decorating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was really fun to do with my son! I halved the recipe, but still needed about 1 cup of water. I also added green food coloring to the dough, as we were making Christmas trees. I used a straw to cut the hole, and a circle cutter to cut a hole in the center because I'm gonna put a picture of the little guy in there to tie onto the wrapped gifts for my family. I baked mine @ 275 degrees, but they only took like 25-30 minutes in my super-hot oven. They sort of started to curl up, but nothing too major. All in all, a great project that may just become a yearly tradition! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Absolutely perfect for a weekend ornament project for my kids and their Bumpa. Spot on with measurements and just super wonderful to work with. Watch the baking time, one hour was a little too long. 40 minutes was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leahmcc311
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Made these with the children today. I used a straw to make the holes, baked at 250, for about an hour...the results were NO puffing at all. They started to crack so I put a pan of water in there like you do for a cheesecake, and that stopped them. They turned out SO cute! They made about 8 3-4" ornaments, with the recipe halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahmcc311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I got about 100 small ornaments out of this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Kristina
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Me and my kids just finished making ornaments and they came out pretty good. They did puff up a little in the middle, but overall I would call it a success. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make these without them "puffing" up, reduce heat to 300 and cook for a bit longer. I made 2 batches. 1st batch was at 325 for a hour and they puffed up...alot..I threw them away and made a second batch... 2nd batch was at 300 for a little over a hour...came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was easy to prepare, I just had to use a bit more water. My 2 year old daughter loved helping me cut them. She especially loved painting them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyflores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
cooked a half recipe for my 2 and 3 year old, made about 12-14 cookies, baked 300 for about 40 minutes, turned out great!! kids loved decorating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deevarey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I used half the recipe and it made about 10 good sized ornaments. I baked them at 200 degrees for about 2 hours and flipped half way through. They didn't puff at all but they did curl a little -no biggie. I made them the same day we painted them but next time I'll make them at least a couple of days in advance so they fully dry and harden before painting. We decorated them with craft paints and sharpie markers and sealed with mod podge. The kids loved painting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States