Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
dont heat for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa629

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used a similar recipe but with more salt. 2 cups flour to 1 cup salt with 1 cup warm water. It was very easy to make and rolled out very well. My kids loved making and decorating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was really fun to do with my son! I halved the recipe, but still needed about 1 cup of water. I also added green food coloring to the dough, as we were making Christmas trees. I used a straw to cut the hole, and a circle cutter to cut a hole in the center because I'm gonna put a picture of the little guy in there to tie onto the wrapped gifts for my family. I baked mine @ 275 degrees, but they only took like 25-30 minutes in my super-hot oven. They sort of started to curl up, but nothing too major. All in all, a great project that may just become a yearly tradition! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Absolutely perfect for a weekend ornament project for my kids and their Bumpa. Spot on with measurements and just super wonderful to work with. Watch the baking time, one hour was a little too long. 40 minutes was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leahmcc311
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Made these with the children today. I used a straw to make the holes, baked at 250, for about an hour...the results were NO puffing at all. They started to crack so I put a pan of water in there like you do for a cheesecake, and that stopped them. They turned out SO cute! They made about 8 3-4" ornaments, with the recipe halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahmcc311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I got about 100 small ornaments out of this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Kristina
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Me and my kids just finished making ornaments and they came out pretty good. They did puff up a little in the middle, but overall I would call it a success. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make these without them "puffing" up, reduce heat to 300 and cook for a bit longer. I made 2 batches. 1st batch was at 325 for a hour and they puffed up...alot..I threw them away and made a second batch... 2nd batch was at 300 for a little over a hour...came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was easy to prepare, I just had to use a bit more water. My 2 year old daughter loved helping me cut them. She especially loved painting them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyflores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
cooked a half recipe for my 2 and 3 year old, made about 12-14 cookies, baked 300 for about 40 minutes, turned out great!! kids loved decorating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deevarey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Butter Puff Biscuit Dough

A much faster and easier way to make puff pastry at home.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States