Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I took advice from others and turned down the temp to 200 -- it took about 5 hours, but they were done with no puffing. I even dropped one on the tile floor as I was taking them off the cookie sheet and it didn't break. My only other helpful critique is that this is a HUGE recipe. Enough for an entire preschool class at least. We made 20 ornaments, and still had about a third of the dough left. I just tossed it because I'm already not sure what we're going to do with 20 of these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Rhodes Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
They occasionally bubble up. We decorated them with cookie die and water before hand with some and used paint on some when they came out. They looked pretty. Note: Do not use sugar on these for decoration. It does not turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I didn't count how many I made, but their cute! Forgot to use warm water so not sure about that difference. I used food coloring in them, Got a marbled look to some. They are Lavender and Pink. Tomorrow's more like Green and Red. One question: Storing the extra dough since only flour, salt and water I hope just a air tight bag would be okay for awhile. What's the suggestion for storage beyond the next few days? Dough is protected for the night at least. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C. Rodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Fun and easy to do with my 3 yr old. However they puffed up a lot. I think I'll take advice from the others and cook at a lower temperature for a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I love making these, and giving ornaments is nice but you can do other things too of course! I put the hole in the bottom and made some markers for a friends garden. I had some old wire hangers so I cut a piece from that to put through the hole, it works great. I am going to add the cinnamon, its a great idea. I have used food coloring and some I paint. I also use the polyurethane to seal them and give them a nice glossy look. I may try the different flour next time for more color options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LezKaySkinsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Easy and Fun!! My 4-year-old loved helping me make decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I used this recipe to make handprint Santas for my 12-month-old twins, and it turned out really well! I used a kitchenaid for the kneading, which saved a lot of work. I had to add a little more flour than was listed and the dough was still a tad sticky...refrigerating the dough, patting our enough for one ornament by hand rather than rolling all the dough, and oiling my boys' hands before making the prints really helped. I finished them with acrylic paint and a coat of mod podge and they look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Came out great! They did puff a little in the center though, but I did follow the advice from some of the other comments to turn down the temp (250) and increase the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I loved this recipe. Am making a second batch today for my 19 yr old daughter and her friends to decorate tonight. I did find you have to add more water as you go but i think i will try to put them in plastic seal bags in portions so that will help illiminate the adding of too much water. I like the straw idea for the holes too. Thanks for this recipe it is fun doing crafts again. Also, i sprayed them with glitter spray after decorating and it is just the perfect thing to seal and top them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I got over 30 ornaments cut out but they puffed up more than I would have liked. I used cookie cutters and I baked them at 300 for 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Butter Puff Biscuit Dough

A much faster and easier way to make puff pastry at home.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States