Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I use to sell Bread Dough Ornaments, so here's some "professional" advise. Use cut up paper clips (each clip will give you 3 units) for the hangers, easier than making holes and looks better too. Also you can use cake food coloring paste to color the dough instead of painting it afterwards. Keeping dough in zip lock bags work for a few days and then just add either water or flour to freshen up. It's not necessary to roll out flat. I did some pretty thick ornaments and used a lower degree (200) for a longer time. Less puffing. Use a garlic press to create hair & beards. Lots of fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
GREAT, EASY RECIPE. MADE 25 ORNAMENTS AND THEY WERE ABOUT 1/2 INCH THICK EACH. BAKED IN ABOUT 40 MINS NOT 1 HOUR. EASY FUN RECIPE, MY DAUGHTERS PRESCHOOL CLASS LOVED PAINTING AND DECORATING THEM! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Try adding cinnamon to this recipe, it adds for a great holday smell. I used to make these when I was little but I forgot the base recipe portions. So I googled and was brought to your recipe. It works great. My kids had a blast making them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakermd
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am not a "pro" but here are some tips: 1.) Use food coloring in dough so no need to paint! Food coloring fades with baking, so make dough several shades darker. 2.) Roll dough in one direction (up-up-up or down-down-down) When rolling "up-down-up-down" it makes an uneven surface of hills & valleys. Rolling in one direction gives a nice level cookie surface. 3.) Thicker rolled cookies puffed more, but if you let them sit out an hour before baking, it puffed much less. Ideal thickness 1/8 to 1/4 of an inch. Baking at 275-300 for a longer time also decreased puff. Not all puff was bad, some of our shapes looked great puffy, like our tree & ornament shape, like a 3D effect. 4.) Keep dough in a ziplock and pull out only what you need. 5.) Puffy paints great for "icing". 6.) Straws were perfect for making holes. Holes shrink a bit w baking, straws are pefect circle size. 7.) Bake on a non-stick or parchment paper so they slip off easily and don't break. 8.) Several thin layers of Mod Podge brand were great sealant, do this after you finish painting decorations, etc.. 9.) Add 2 - 4 tsp of allspice to dough for a beautiful speckled appearance 10.) Squeeze a pea-sized dollop of glitter glue onto ornament & smear w finger. Gives ornament a pretty sparkly sheen. 11.) Paint & seal on top of waxpaper sheets. Easy clean-up, no sticking or ruined ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make these without them "puffing" up, reduce heat to 300 and cook for a bit longer. I made 2 batches. 1st batch was at 325 for a hour and they puffed up...alot..I threw them away and made a second batch... 2nd batch was at 300 for a little over a hour...came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I used this recipe today with my 4 year old. They turned out great .Cooked in less than an hour. Made more than 15 ornaments too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Lots of fun! Our puffed a little, but still held their shape. I though they turned out really cute. We used fabric markers (worked great for details) and craft paint and glitter glue. Use a straw instead of a toothpick for the hole - toothpick hole too small to put raffia/ribbons/twine through. We used spray polyurithane to preserve and it seems to have worked well. - Very, very cute and relatives loved getting these from the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Because I was making gingerbread man ornaments, I used wheat flour. It gave them a nice tan color. I did have to use a bit of extra water though. Because I was afraid of cracking and puffing, I baked mine at 300 degrees for 45 minutes, and let them air dry the rest of the way. That seemed to work. I did have trouble with mine sticking to the pan though....I think I would spray it with Pam the next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These turned out great for the kids we cooked on 300 to help with the puffing and used thick spaghetti to pierce the hole instead of a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great, easy recipe! My kids and I both enjoyed making these, and the cookies took less time to dry than stated in the recipe. I added a pinch of cinnamon for a speckled look. They are easy to decorate with craft paint, and I even glued tiny beads on some for a little sparkle. They look great on the tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States