Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My first grade brownie troop loved this. We used a straw to make a hole for hanging. I am going to use this recipe for my 3rd grade troop on Valentines day to make magnets also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
my son and I made these for Christmas the other day and we had a blast. I added cinnamon to the dough and it smelled wonderful.. They made really cute ginger bread boys to hang on the tree. Thanks.. Will use again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These turned out great! I also used a straw to make the hole. We used craft paint and puffy paints to decorate. Be prepared for a full body workout when rolling this dough out...but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I use to sell Bread Dough Ornaments, so here's some "professional" advise. Use cut up paper clips (each clip will give you 3 units) for the hangers, easier than making holes and looks better too. Also you can use cake food coloring paste to color the dough instead of painting it afterwards. Keeping dough in zip lock bags work for a few days and then just add either water or flour to freshen up. It's not necessary to roll out flat. I did some pretty thick ornaments and used a lower degree (200) for a longer time. Less puffing. Use a garlic press to create hair & beards. Lots of fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
fun to make and easy to decorate! we used fabric paints to decorate them and they looked wonderful on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great, easy recipe! My kids and I both enjoyed making these, and the cookies took less time to dry than stated in the recipe. I added a pinch of cinnamon for a speckled look. They are easy to decorate with craft paint, and I even glued tiny beads on some for a little sparkle. They look great on the tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These turned out great for the kids we cooked on 300 to help with the puffing and used thick spaghetti to pierce the hole instead of a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Try adding cinnamon to this recipe, it adds for a great holday smell. I used to make these when I was little but I forgot the base recipe portions. So I googled and was brought to your recipe. It works great. My kids had a blast making them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Started cooking time at 315 but had to turn down to 300 because they were getting to brown. Sprayed my cookie sheets first had no problem sticking. They puffed more than I would have liked but turned out fine. My 5 year old will have fun decorating them for xmas gifts for grandparents and etc... Used a straw to make the hole like another person did, worked great. Dough was very easy to make and work with. Will keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Lots of fun! Our puffed a little, but still held their shape. I though they turned out really cute. We used fabric markers (worked great for details) and craft paint and glitter glue. Use a straw instead of a toothpick for the hole - toothpick hole too small to put raffia/ribbons/twine through. We used spray polyurithane to preserve and it seems to have worked well. - Very, very cute and relatives loved getting these from the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States