Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The kids enjoyed this. I colored an additional half batch using various paste colors, wet the surfaces with a little water before adding colored pieces. Made a LOT of ornaments (about 50 for the 1.5 batches). Used a straw to make holes. Baked at 200 degrees for a couple of hours, no puffing. They didn't spread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I really liked this recipe. The only problem I had was that the ornaments puffed up a little. I had varying thicknesses (from 1/4 inch. thick to about 1/2 inch.) and they all pretty much puffed up. I did do something fun though. I added food coloring to little portions of some of the dough and used the colors as accents. Example: white snowman with blue and orange scarf, black and red hat, and black eyes and buttons. It just brushed the snowman with a little water when I was ready to apply the pieces. They came out super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My ornaments came out great but I followed some of the advice, I cooked at 200 for an hour+ and I ended up having to use a bit more water than a cup and a half. I think the low slow prevented the puffing. I also flipped the cookies half way through to prevent them from curling up. I covered them in glitter and they look stunning. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Other than a little puffiness, this recipe worked. I let kids cut out heart shapes to make Valentine's magnets for their parents and these were light enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My first grade brownie troop loved this. We used a straw to make a hole for hanging. I am going to use this recipe for my 3rd grade troop on Valentines day to make magnets also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
my son and I made these for Christmas the other day and we had a blast. I added cinnamon to the dough and it smelled wonderful.. They made really cute ginger bread boys to hang on the tree. Thanks.. Will use again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These turned out great! I also used a straw to make the hole. We used craft paint and puffy paints to decorate. Be prepared for a full body workout when rolling this dough out...but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I use to sell Bread Dough Ornaments, so here's some "professional" advise. Use cut up paper clips (each clip will give you 3 units) for the hangers, easier than making holes and looks better too. Also you can use cake food coloring paste to color the dough instead of painting it afterwards. Keeping dough in zip lock bags work for a few days and then just add either water or flour to freshen up. It's not necessary to roll out flat. I did some pretty thick ornaments and used a lower degree (200) for a longer time. Less puffing. Use a garlic press to create hair & beards. Lots of fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
fun to make and easy to decorate! we used fabric paints to decorate them and they looked wonderful on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great, easy recipe! My kids and I both enjoyed making these, and the cookies took less time to dry than stated in the recipe. I added a pinch of cinnamon for a speckled look. They are easy to decorate with craft paint, and I even glued tiny beads on some for a little sparkle. They look great on the tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States