Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Me and my kids just finished making ornaments and they came out pretty good. They did puff up a little in the middle, but overall I would call it a success. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
To make these without them "puffing" up, reduce heat to 300 and cook for a bit longer. I made 2 batches. 1st batch was at 325 for a hour and they puffed up...alot..I threw them away and made a second batch... 2nd batch was at 300 for a little over a hour...came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was easy to prepare, I just had to use a bit more water. My 2 year old daughter loved helping me cut them. She especially loved painting them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyflores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
cooked a half recipe for my 2 and 3 year old, made about 12-14 cookies, baked 300 for about 40 minutes, turned out great!! kids loved decorating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deevarey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I used half the recipe and it made about 10 good sized ornaments. I baked them at 200 degrees for about 2 hours and flipped half way through. They didn't puff at all but they did curl a little -no biggie. I made them the same day we painted them but next time I'll make them at least a couple of days in advance so they fully dry and harden before painting. We decorated them with craft paints and sharpie markers and sealed with mod podge. The kids loved painting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These worked okay...I would try them out again..but most of them bubbled up some. I don't know if they were in there too long or to short of a time...considering I got more ornaments than 12 out of mine?!?! I guess it just depends on the cookie cutter size. Anyway...maybe next time I'll use bigger cutters and see if I can get 12 to get the right results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These were very easy to make, but I had to add quite a bit more water throughout the process to keep the dough at a workable consistency. They did start puffing quite a bit in the oven so I turned the heat down to 300 and all was well. I also only baked them for about 40 minutes (and mine were about 1/2" thick). Turned out very cute decorated with fabric paint. I will make these again, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fourpiesmama
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a fun and easy project. I halved this recipe and found I needed a touch more water to yield a nice, smooth dough. I mixed mine up in the kitchenaid, so I didn't have to knead by hand. It rolled out nicely with a touch of flour. I made small hearts with my boys and we did some with holes punched with a straw, and some with the paperclips that Cheryl (1st reviewer) suggested. I think I like the clean look of the clip as a hanger. Then just painted then and added 2 coats of mod-podge to seal and get a nice finish. They were fun to do and so cute. We are giving them as necklaces with our valentines cards this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
300 degrees for 1 hour + 30 minutes cooling. I decorated these with Sharpies and glitter. They turned out really cute because I used miniature cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was SO easy and SO much fun! I think I will have to make this a tradition with my kids! They had just a great time playing and cutting out the dough and especially painting them! They make great little gifts for grandma's and grandpa's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States