Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Anne Marie Yach Voegeli
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe worked out great! I used my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook to mix and it whipped right up. My 8 year old son and I had a blast making these ornaments. I baked them at 300 for 1 hour, 10 minutes in an electric stove oven. No issues whatsoever! And I did use a straw to make holes for the decorative ribbon for hanging on the tree. Very happy with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Yach Voegeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Like other reviewers, I turned the oven down to 300 (probably could have gone a bit lower) and I added some cinnamon (didn't measure, just added what seemed right).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
worked wonderfully! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Loved it! Dumped in some cinnamon for smell goodness and to make the "gingerbread" men brown. A couple did puff up but no worries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakermd
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am not a "pro" but here are some tips: 1.) Use food coloring in dough so no need to paint! Food coloring fades with baking, so make dough several shades darker. 2.) Roll dough in one direction (up-up-up or down-down-down) When rolling "up-down-up-down" it makes an uneven surface of hills & valleys. Rolling in one direction gives a nice level cookie surface. 3.) Thicker rolled cookies puffed more, but if you let them sit out an hour before baking, it puffed much less. Ideal thickness 1/8 to 1/4 of an inch. Baking at 275-300 for a longer time also decreased puff. Not all puff was bad, some of our shapes looked great puffy, like our tree & ornament shape, like a 3D effect. 4.) Keep dough in a ziplock and pull out only what you need. 5.) Puffy paints great for "icing". 6.) Straws were perfect for making holes. Holes shrink a bit w baking, straws are pefect circle size. 7.) Bake on a non-stick or parchment paper so they slip off easily and don't break. 8.) Several thin layers of Mod Podge brand were great sealant, do this after you finish painting decorations, etc.. 9.) Add 2 - 4 tsp of allspice to dough for a beautiful speckled appearance 10.) Squeeze a pea-sized dollop of glitter glue onto ornament & smear w finger. Gives ornament a pretty sparkly sheen. 11.) Paint & seal on top of waxpaper sheets. Easy clean-up, no sticking or ruined ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I am going to find the recipe I used last year. I found this one stiff and half of the ornaments puffed up. Why is that? I'll add the recipe I used last year when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Worked well. I baked them at 300 in a convection oven. I make these every year with my many kids. It is their favorite tradition. I have tried many recipes. These worked well in that there was not much poof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I gave this recipe 3 stars because after about 15 minutes the dough became unworkable and we had to throw half of it away. If you're going to make these roll em out and cut them quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-unit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANVASWRITER
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I wanted to do an "under the sea tree" for my youngest grandchildren, they love the ocean, so I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the basic dough recipe here, I'm cutting out the shapes using "coloring" templates I found in the net, and painting then varnishing with Damar, using a thin sea green ribbon to hang them, and using teal and blue tiny light on a real tree, with some sea green bows. I uploaded a photo of the first coat of paint on some Beluga whales and some sea blue candy canes. I love this. I have done so many themed trees since my now 40ish darling daughters were small. They made their own then, I made them now for the wee ones, they think they are "magical". And they care extremely cheap to decorate an entire tree. A little flour, a little acrylic paint, and some ribbon and it's a go. Thanks so much for posting this recipe so others can find their inner artist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
had fun making these but they bubbled up on me i rolled them out to 1/8th of in. thick and some still bubbled up can you tell me what i did wrong. i think they are still cute. but hubby made fun of them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Butter Puff Biscuit Dough

A much faster and easier way to make puff pastry at home.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States