Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I used this recipe to make handprint Santas for my 12-month-old twins, and it turned out really well! I used a kitchenaid for the kneading, which saved a lot of work. I had to add a little more flour than was listed and the dough was still a tad sticky...refrigerating the dough, patting our enough for one ornament by hand rather than rolling all the dough, and oiling my boys' hands before making the prints really helped. I finished them with acrylic paint and a coat of mod podge and they look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Came out great! They did puff a little in the center though, but I did follow the advice from some of the other comments to turn down the temp (250) and increase the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I loved this recipe. Am making a second batch today for my 19 yr old daughter and her friends to decorate tonight. I did find you have to add more water as you go but i think i will try to put them in plastic seal bags in portions so that will help illiminate the adding of too much water. I like the straw idea for the holes too. Thanks for this recipe it is fun doing crafts again. Also, i sprayed them with glitter spray after decorating and it is just the perfect thing to seal and top them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I got over 30 ornaments cut out but they puffed up more than I would have liked. I used cookie cutters and I baked them at 300 for 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Over all, the recipe works well. I did need to add more water to keep the dough soft. I use small eye screws with a dab of craft glue as the hanger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very dry dough, and hard to work with. Wasn't smooth, but rough and bumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was a huge success in my preschool class. It was a very easy, forgiving recipe. We did need a little bit more water than the recipe called for. I found that if the dough is a little wetter/sticky to begin with it turns out smoother. We just sprinkled a little flour on it and kneaded it until it felt right and rolled well. Also, we used cinnamon to roll it out to give it a great smell. I am sure that part of the flour could be substituted with cinnamon, but we did it just for the experience while we were making it, because I am going to seal them and they won't smell anyway. They baked very hard, which is good, but they might be a little fragile. I was only concerned because we made them with 3-5 year olds and when we paint them I fear that they might break if dropped. One thing that I wasn't sure if I liked, was that they definitely do puff up and I cooked mine at 300 degrees for 50 minutes. In some ways I do like the 3d effect, but a few of the ornaments cracked, so I suggest making a few extra just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Mine didn't puff up at all. Due to the fact they were a little thicker then I would of liked, I lowered the heat to 200 and left them in for 2 hours. This worked perfect for me. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I will definitely be using it again :D xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
If you have a dehydrator, use it! I did and I have the best looking salt dough ornaments ever. Took about 3 hrs on the fruit setting. Zero puffing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe is great except I recommend drying these for a night or two depending on thickness, if you prefer flatter, smoother results. If you just can't wait, drop the oven temp as low as possible. They will expand a little in the oven and sometimes bubble. I added a 1/2 cup cinnamon and a little extra water because I love cinnamon. Another tip someone gave was to use a straw to make your holes, it works great. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States