Doubletree Hotel's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Try this recipe instead. It's MUCH better and closer to the original. After making these cookies for the first time I had 2 requests for the recipe. 1/2 cup rolled oats 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda 1 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed 3/4 cup granulated sugar 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice 2 eggs 3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips 1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 2. Grind oats in a food processor or blender until fine. Combine the ground oats with the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl. 3. Cream together the butter, sugars, vanilla, and lemon juice in another medium bowl with an electric mixer. Add the eggs and mix until smooth. 4. Stir the dry mixture into the wet mixture and blend well. Add the chocolate chips and nuts to the dough and mix by hand until ingredients are well-incorporated. 5. Spoon rounded 1/4-cup portions onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Place the scoops about 2 inches apart. You don't need to press the dough flat. Bake for 16-18 minutes or until cookies are light brown and soft in the middle. Store in a sealed container when cool to keep soft. For the best results, chill the dough overnight in the refrigerator before baking the cookies. Makes 20 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These were fantastic! I also used the revised recipe and instead of chilling the dough, I froze it. I just used an ice cream scoop, dropped the balls onto a jellyroll pan and stuck them in the freezer. After they hardened I then placed them in a freezer bag and baked them as needed on parchment at 375 degrees for about 12-14 min. I'm sure the Doubletree doesn't have someone mixing cookies all day long, and the freezing I believe helped them hold shape... they were perfect! Plus having them in the freezer allows me to have some on hand for guests... just like the hotel! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Nothing at all like the original. The real ones are dense and chewy; these are light and cakey. The actual recipe isn't that good. For all the money it took to get the ingredients, I would DEFINITELY not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made my second batch of these cookies tonight because my husband wanted something sweet, and we both love them. I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans instead. It's best to chop the nuts before measuring. The recipe was still good. I prefer to flatten the cookie dough into thick round disks so that they have a nice shape and size. When I gave out cookies from the first batch to some friends, I was asked for the recipe; however, this will stay in my secret recipe stash. In my opinion, these are extremely close to the original cookies but without the cute storage tin. As another baker suggested, I was thinking about reducing the eggs to 3 but decided not to. Why mess with something that my husband and I like? I do have one tip for the baker from Indiana with the lemon problem...when lemons are in season and cheap, buy a bunch, juice them, freeze the juice in ice cube trays, and store the juice cubes in the freezer. Whenever a recipe calls for lemon juice, take a cube out and thaw. It's that simple. I also freeze lime juice to use in Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Talk about the ULTIMATE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE!!! Search no longer. These are big, crispy on the outside,and soft chewy on the inside. YUM! As if this recipe wasn't great enough, I must confess I was curious to try reviewer's (CSANDST1 from 3-9-2001) suggestion for a variation. WOW, now we have not only the Ultimate, but we have the MOST ULTIMATE SPECTACULAR CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE OF ALL TIME! Thanks Stephanie and CSANDST1. I may have been tempted to keep this revelation to myself. I'm so glad the two of your aren't like me,and decided to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
I did just what the directions said to do. My cookies turned out ok, but nothing like the ones at the hotel. I'm not sure I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I used CSTANDST1's review recipe...I love this cookie! My family, too. We love Doubletree cookies, and being able to enjoy such a close copy cat from home is great! This will be my regular choco chip cookie now! My 4 stars is because I used a reviewers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I found this exact recipe on another site and was anxious to try it. I didn't like it at all. The cookies were cakey and too puffy...not substantial like the doubletree cookies. I'll be tried the other suggested recipe next to see how it compares. If it's good, I'll post it as another Doubletree cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is definitely NOT the Doubletree Cookie. Doesn't taste anything like it or have the same consistency. It makes a "fair" Chocolate Chip cookie, but if you are looking for something along the lines of the Doubletree cookie....this is absolutely NOT it. I definitely won't waste my money on the ingredients for this specific recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is an okay recipe. I didn't think they tasted like doubletree's cookies. But they are okay. They are very fluffy. Not dense like doubletree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States