Doubletree Hotel's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These cookies turned out very good. I've only had doubletree cookies once but these make me want to stay at one. I sometimes add about 1 tbsp of cocoa with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Good recipe. I agree with the others the actual cookies are more dense and crumbly. I cooked mine 6 minutes longer then directed and they were still chewy and barely brown around the edges. I did cool on a wire rack. Also, this particular recipe really needs the walnuts to hold it together. Don't make the mistake I did and make a batch with none. The ones with walnuts were shaped correctly but without the cookie melts before it bakes and turns into a giant cookie pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made the cookies from CSTANDST1's review as well and they were delicious. Not quite like doubletrees but really close. I made them for Valentine's Day and brought them to my husbands work. They loved them saying these were the beat chocolate chip cookies they have ever had. I would agree. Small change...I blended my oats till they were like flour, next time I'll maybe add a little bit of quick oats as well, or won't blend them as much. If I can remember Doubletrees have a little more chewy oat texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Delicious. Very similar to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbern, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I found this exact recipe on another site and was anxious to try it. I didn't like it at all. The cookies were cakey and too puffy...not substantial like the doubletree cookies. I'll be tried the other suggested recipe next to see how it compares. If it's good, I'll post it as another Doubletree cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were really good! Very close to the nice warm cookies that you get when you check in. Now, if someone just had the recipe for a hottub like the one at the Doubletree....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowerdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I'm very pleased with this cookie--soft on the inside/crisp edges--and great flavor. I don't remember cinnamon in the Doubletree cookie, but I like the subtle warmth it provides. Here are the adjustments I made: halved the recipe & used part WW pastry flour, added 2 T wheat germ for part of the flour, cut the nuts to 1/2 cup, subbed 1/4 cup shortening for part of the butter, used 1/2 & 1/2 brown sugar/white sugar, used a combo of the Nestle's semi-sweet/white chocolate swirl, milk chocolate, and semi-sweet chocolate chips, and I added 2 T grated chocolate. My husband liked them but wants me to go back to the old Tollhouse recipe; I enjoyed the change--thanks for sharing, Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made my second batch of these cookies tonight because my husband wanted something sweet, and we both love them. I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans instead. It's best to chop the nuts before measuring. The recipe was still good. I prefer to flatten the cookie dough into thick round disks so that they have a nice shape and size. When I gave out cookies from the first batch to some friends, I was asked for the recipe; however, this will stay in my secret recipe stash. In my opinion, these are extremely close to the original cookies but without the cute storage tin. As another baker suggested, I was thinking about reducing the eggs to 3 but decided not to. Why mess with something that my husband and I like? I do have one tip for the baker from Indiana with the lemon problem...when lemons are in season and cheap, buy a bunch, juice them, freeze the juice in ice cube trays, and store the juice cubes in the freezer. Whenever a recipe calls for lemon juice, take a cube out and thaw. It's that simple. I also freeze lime juice to use in Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made these without having tried this hotel's cookie. More like mini cakes rather than a cookie! Personally, I prefer a traditional chewy-flat-type cookie (the baking soda should have tipped me off). But for those that like the cake-type...this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I took them to work and they were well-received. very satisfying and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States