Double Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I used this recipe as the dough to make runzas (bierocks) and it worked perfectly. It is tastier and much less time consuming than the runza dough recipe I had been using. I did the second rise in the bowl (since I wasn't putting it into muffin cups) and added some extra flour as I rolled it out. Since some reviewers said the onion powder was overpowering, I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Delicious and simple. I didn't have potato "flakes", as the instant potatoes I had was more like a powder (purchased from Costco), but it worked great. I too, left out the onion powder as I wanted just a plain roll, but it is delicious. I will make it with onion powder another time as I'm sure it will be great too! Great reviews from guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The texture was super fluffy. I used quick rise yeast and they had no trouble rising at all. The dough was a little bland, though. I had even added garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and some Parmesan cheese and they still didn't taste like much of anything. I guess they made a nice canvas for butter. I will definitely be adding more salt and more seasonings next time. They were really easy to make so I will be happy to give them another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
They taste fantastic! And they're so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Has anyone ever made these not using a muffin tin? I'm thinking of just using a scooper and putting them on line to parchment paper and baking them. Any thoughts? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy to make but didn't like the taste. I think it's the onion powder. >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good rolls that were quick and easy to make. I've never added the dry potato flakes to rolls before, but I'm going to have to try this in other bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Awesome for as easy as it was. I didn't have anything except olive oil, so that's what I used, then decided that I might as well make it more Italian by going with garlic/ital. seasoning in place of the onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Tried these tonight exactly as written and they were great. I make rolls 3-4 times a week and have tried many recipes here and these are my faves so far. Couldn't be easier. Reminds me of sally lund bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made these rolls last night to complement a stew. The worked nicely and I really like them. However, if you are making these rolls for the first time as I was, follow the advice of other bakers and exchange the onion powder for garlic powder instead. They're fine with the onion powder, it makes them slightly savory, but I really think they would have been sooo much better with garlic powder. I unfortunately am fresh out and could not make the exchange....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States