Double Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I had trouble with these rising, but I'm pretty much positive thats my fault-next time I'll measure out the yeast perfectly instead of just throwing in a pre-measured packet. Other than that I wanted healthier/less elaborate rolls that would go better with my dinner so I replaced the potato flakes with oatmeal, subsituted the white sgr with brn, replaced the veg oil with applesauce, omitted the onion powder, and replaced one cup flour with wheat flour. Despite my touble with these rising they turned out AMAZING. I couldn't believe how well they turned out despite everything. They were sweeter than I expected and my guests left asking for more. Suprisingly light and very complimentary to any dinner dish-will become my go-to for dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I liked it because they were fast. I also used quick rise yeast. I used garlic powder vs onion and added dried parsley. It wasn't bad- but probably would have been better for a sweet type roll...wonder how to change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These are not the best rolls ever but as far as a good but fast recipe it's great. I made them a few weeks ago and didn't follow directions, kept adding flour until they were more like reg. roll dough and my husband compared them to unleavened bread. (They really weren't that bad but weren't as soft as my reg. dinner rolls) Today I followed the recipe but reduced the onion powder to about 1/3 tsp since the onion flavor really didn't go well with our main dish. They were easy, light and yummy. Will definitely make again but won't through out the reg dinner roll recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were ok. I like rolls a little more light and soft. These are heavier and do have a different texture, but they're still good and great when you need something quick. Unfortunately there were plenty left after dinner. I tried one the next day and it was just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this to go with Shrimp Chowder from this site and they turned out wonderfully. I let the yeast sit in the warm water for about 10 minutes before continuing with the recipe. I doubled the recipe and got 26 rolls out of the dough. Baked for 14 minutes; will bake a little longer (2-3 minutes) next time. I used 1 tsp. garlic powder in place of the onion powder (picky eaters). Overall an easy and delicious recipe I'll be using over and over again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Love this recipe for quick dinner rolls. I don't usually have mashed potato flakes on hand so I use oat bran instead. I also use 1/2 whole wheat flour to add some fiber. And I do without onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is the best and the simplest of bread rolls. I increased the flour by 1/2 cup and they are perfect for clover rolls. I make them 2-3 times a week to have with dinner. yummmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laramars

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rimrock, Arizona, USA
Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was a fabulous recipe..I played with it just a hair.. I added 3/4 warm water then 1/4 ricotta Cheese. For the onion powder i mixed italian herbs/garlic powder and chili pepper. Also instead of making Dinner Rolls I made them the size of Buns .. After they cooled I took and froze them for my family. Good Job on this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe is so easy! They are very delicious, crusty on the outside and nice and soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! So easy and the rolls turned out great. I used naturaly bleached wheat flour and didn't find the dough all that difficult to work with as other reviews were saying. I made the dough earlier in the day and put it in the fridge untill dinner time. I do have to say I was surprized to see that the dough continued to rise in the fridge though. I cooked mine in a 350 oven for 12 min (I have a convection oven) and they were wonderfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States