Double Nickel Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Works well as an emulsion or not. Reduce amount of sugar to about 1/4 c. and use more white wine vinegar as the other comments have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tartan.redhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Thanks for this keeper Anna! I've used it several times now. I love it for pasta salad especially. It's a big hit! Someone always asks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bull Shoals, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We were trying to mimic the Portillo's salad dressing from their Chicago restaurant. Being in Austin, Tx, we only get a taste once a year. The other recipe we've tried is the one that was posted and copied from the Sun Times some yrs back. I have to say that this recipe tastes more like the Portillo's recipe than the Sun Times version. We used balsamic white vinegar instead of the "white vinegar" specified, and added a bit more horseradish. The result is very close to the real thing. It's a bit more oily than the original. (We even brought a pint back from Chicago to measure against). With a bit more playing, we should have the closest thing to Portillo's dressing south of the Red River!! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I scaled this down to 6 servings because I used it on pasta salad. Im nto a fan of using plain white vinegar in this I think a wine vinegar would add alot of depth. Worked fine for a spaghetti/broccoli/tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Won't be making again, mine came out very thick, used the blender, maybe I over blended?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made a version with a few changes, but it was AMAZING! If anyone lives around Northern Illinois and knows about Portillo's salads, it tastes really similar to their chopped salad dressing if you cut back the sugar to 1/4 C, and add oregano and about a half a tablespoon of horseradish. Thank you so much for posting this. It is a great dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Well, I've never eaten at the "Double Nickel" but their dressing is pretty good. I don't think I'd qualify this as a "sweet Italian" vinaigrette, but more of a "sweet mustard" vinaigrette with a bit of a kick from the red pepper flakes. I cut the recipe in half and knew right away that 1/2 cup of sugar was going to be waaaay to sweet so I used 1/4 cup (2 Tbsp. of Splenda). I upped the red pepper flakes a bit and used white wine vinegar. I didn't have corn oil so I used olive oil and half that amount - 1/2 cup. I put everything into my mini-food processor and gave let it go. Since it was a bit on the thin side I added 1 & 1/2 tsp. of dijon mustard. Next time I will most likely cut back even more on the sugar....but overall the sweet and spicy can be adjusted to one's personal taste. Very good over mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a good dressing once you cut back on the sugar. I cut the amount of sugar in half and it was a nice balance of hot and sweet. As written, it was just too sweet for me but that one change made the difference. Thanks for sharing, Anna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and scaled the sugar to 3 tablespoons. Plenty sweet enough! Gave it a whirl in a mini food processor and used it on a simple garden salad. We liked it and will try in a larger quantity for a pasta salad. I also used canola oil not corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This dressing is wonderful. I marinate diced chicken in it for an hour then fry it until it carmalizes which doesn't take long. Then I serve it on a bed of lettuce with diced celery, cucumbers, tomatoes and cheese! YUM! Great cool meal on hot summer days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States