Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is my family's favorite pumpkin pie recipe! I have made it for 10 years. My 2 teenage boys ask for it every holiday season. I can not bake anything, but this pie is so easy to make. It is a twist on the traditional baked pie. I only use 1/2 cup of milk on the pumpkin/pudding layer. I use allspice instead of the suggested spices (just add to your liking). Like other reviewers, I also recomend mixing the milk with the pudding first and then add in the pumpkin. I like the pie served cold out of the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I got this same recipe from my mother in law a few years ago. This is my kids' favorite pie. This recipe is exactly the same as the one from my mother in law except for one step. Instead of mixing the milk, pudding, pumpkin and spices together all at once my version calls for mixing the milk and pudding together first. Beat with wire wisk for 2 minutes. Then let it stand for 3 minutes. Now add the pumkin and spices, mixing well. I've never had a problem with my pie being runny as some other reviewers complained about. Changing this step may solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was soo good. Everyone loved it. I bought 2 pie crust since other reviewers said it makes enough for 2. I disagree. I think it makes enough for one stacked pie. I also put the pumpkin layer on the bottom then the cool whip mixture. I also used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Will def. make again and again. Very easy considering there is no baking involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. I made it for a church gathering and everyone loved it!! My favorite pumpkin pie definitely. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Holdcraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I give this a 4 as written, but I give my version a 5. have made it the regular way, using 3/4 c. of milk and it's perfect. I use a large graham cracker crust and sprinkle finely cut, toasted pecans over the crust. For the spices I use cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg - no ginger. I also add in about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract to the pumpkin mixture. Now.... I have also made this almost sugar free. I use a graham cracker crust, sprinkle finely cut, toasted pecans over the crust. I use SF pudding, SF whipped topping, and 4 pkgs. of sweetner in place of the sugar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I liked how easy this recipe was to make! I took the remaining whipped topping and added it to the pumpkin mixture for a little extra "fluff" YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hebron, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe several times, it is a crowd favorite every time and is on special request many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Made this a couple of years ago for my first Thanksgiving dinner. Amazing pie. Tastes like pumpkin without all the effort and a touch of something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Delicious! The filling can easily yield two pies. I make it every Thanksgiving and never have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States