Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have never made "homemade" pies before. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was DECADENT! The only thing I did differently was I used a chocolate cookie crumb crust. Everyone raved over it! Problem was, I had no leftovers to enjoy. Now I have to turn in and make another one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The taste was wonderful! My husband likes pumpkin pie, but he likes this even better. After trying it he asked me "You DO still have this recipe saved somewhere don't you?". I just put the bottom layer in the fridge while i made the top layer and then top it back out to put the top layer on. The bottom layer turned out fine, there was no bleeding of flavors. The bottom layer, however was more like a pudding and would not hold form. Thanks for posting the recipe! I will reduce the milk slightly and make it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I had printed out this recipe & my husband found this exact recipe in a cooking magazine I had and asked me to make it. The pumpkin topping was a bit runny. This pie got lost in all of the pies we made and wasn't the best. Thanks for letting me try something different for our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Update 11/19/11: Added 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans to my home made graham cracker crust..The crust was almost as good as the pie! Remember to only use 3/4 cup of milk (I use half and half or cream) or it will be too soupy. Update: 11/11/10 Made a sugar-free version. Used sf vanilla pudding, sf cool whip, and splenda for sugar. Added a couple of extra splenda packets to pumpkin mix. Got rave reviews! Tried again and this time only used 3/4 cup of half and half. Excellent results-not runny at all! Made my own pie crust though-used the recipe on the back of the Honey Maid Graham cracker crumbs box and used a smaller pie pan like an old Bakers Square tin. If you have left over pumpking filling, it can be served and eaten as a "pumpkin mousse". Five people asked me for the recipe and one said it was the best pumpkin pie she ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The recipe seems to make a lot of extra pie filling, but otherwise the recipe is fantastic! My whole family loved it. We changed a lot of the ingredients to low fat or low sugar for my mom who does Weight Watchers, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I don't even like pumpkin pie and this was the hit last year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! And so easy to make. I love that the cream cheese layer mellows the pumpkin taste. I followed one reviewer's tip of chilling in between layers. For the pumpkin layer, I placed all the pumpkin mixture in the center of the cream cheese and spread out toward the edges. Much easier this way. Will definitely make again, maybe next time will try to make my own crust. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this is my all time favorite. My husband hates pumpkin pie, but will only eat this pie I make for him. I've been making this pie for any occasion for the past 2 years and it never gets old. I do use a little more cream cheese to help thicken the bottom. I also put it on the bottom of the crust than store it in the freezer for about 10 mins. I don't use a cup of milk for the pumpkin layer. I only use about 3/4 of a cup because I find that it makes it runny. I do use a mixer to blend it till it is thicker, than I place the mixture in the fridge for about 10 mins. Than place the pumpkin on the top. The longer you chill it the better it is in holding its form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiemac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
We love this pumpkin pie. It is a family Thanksgiving tradition! It is lighter than a typical pumpkin but is very satisfying~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Made this pie last week...came out beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States