Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I did not have a problem with it setting but found the pumpkin layer to spicy. I gave it a 3 because my family did enjoy it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My mother has been making this for years and handed the recipe off to me. After years of making "runny" pies I have finally perfected it. The secret to making it not runny is to use regular cream cheese and whipped cream. Using fat free or reduced makes the pies runny....probably because of the less fat. So my word of advice is use the regular stuff and skip the reduced/non-fat items. Using the regular items I no longer have to chill the 1st layer. Good luck to all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coleman, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
the flavor was toally there, but it turned out real runny and was unable to serve it at thanksgiving. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My family raved over this one. I made it gluten free for us by using GF crumbs for the crust and then followed the directions exactly. Wonderful pie. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I really liked the bottom layer but thought the top had too many spices. Next time I think I will just double the bottom and add a cherry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
extremely easy and fast to make and was delicious,a major hit at Thanksgiving this year. Anorher plus, you can make it the night before, anything that can be done ahead of time is always a plus. I barely got a piece of it! I sprinkled a little pumpkin pie spice in batter also. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was great! For the pudding, I used one instant vanilla and one instant pumpkin pie pudding packets. This way, I didn't have to add extra cinammon, cloves, etc. It was perfect! And I did chill each layer before the next one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wawa_md

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe numerous time at holiday time. It is always a hit and I'm always asked for a copy of the recipe. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is fool-proof and so easy!!! I made a pie yesterday just to make sure we would like it before I made it for Thanksgiving. It was great!!!! Nobody could fail at this recipe. I did use 1 and a half teaspoon of pumkin pie spice instead of having to buy individual spices. I also added a little whip cream (about 2 tablespoons) to the pumpkin pie mixture. I did take the advice of chilling the cream cheese mixture before adding the pumkin pie mixture. Awsome!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is really really yummy! The only thing was I made it as well as the chocolate trifle and EVERYBODY preferred the chocolate trifle so I had a lot left over, but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States