Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yes, we have tried it; my bride makes it every year at Thanksgiving as one of the dessert choices and it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark R. Hagood
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe for at least 15 years! It's always such a hit! I usually have to make 2 pies since 1 is never enough, they always want more! Great tips on here in the reviews....my tip is that I use "french Vanilla" flavored pudding, adds a little extra yumminess to it & I also always get the graham cracker crust that says "2 extra servings", it gives the pie fillings a little extra room to settle into! I also add a little nutmeg to the spices, but shhh, don't tell anyone!!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Have been using this recipe for many, many years! Agree that once the cream cheese and whipping cream base is mixed that you refrigerate it for at least an hour prior to adding the pumpkin layer. Also will add -- 3.25% homogenized milk and 1 3/4 cups of pumpkin filling works well in this recipe which will give you more than enough if using a pre-made 9" graham cracker pie shell. As you will have excess filling left over use it to make at least ten to twelve small pastry tarts. Tarts: Bake first and let cool. As you will need extra cream cheese filling; cut ingredients in half and prepare the same way as you did for the pie. Line baked tarts with the mixture and refrigerate. Add excess pumpkin layer on top. Refrigerate as well until use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The cream cheese layer made this a unique pie for Thanksgiving. Not your traditional pumpkin pie. I was asked for the recipe by several people. Best compliment you can receive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolobtexas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made the recipe exactly the way it was written. It turned out really good! 2nd time around I tweaked the recipe. First I doubled the recipe. I used sweat potatoe pie filling instead of pumpkin. By using sweat potatoe pie filling I didn't need to add the rest of the spices because it was already in there. Instead of boring old graham crackers for the crust I used a whole pack of sandies cookies ( shortbread) and crushed it then added half stick of butter and firmly pressed it on a 9x13 pan. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
i didn't enjoy it, thought it had a weird flavor to it. but some of my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sundman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving two years ago, I don't happen to care for it , HOWEVER everyone else that was there that night LOVED it and now request it 2-3x per year. It is easy, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemamaof1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My 17 year old son told me I was a pie making magician when he tasted this! Make sure you read some of the other modifications from other reviewers... I used 1 tbsp of chilled evaporated milk in addition to the 1 tbsp of half and half (instead of the called for milk) in the bottom layer to make it more solid. I also substituted half and half for the called for regular milk in the top pumpkin layer. Next time I'll probably use a little evaporated milk in the top layer, too, to make it a bit more dense. I also made my own graham cracker crust - which I think is much tastier than the store bought. This pie will be a new favorite at holiday dinners... we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana1975727

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
GET 2 PIE CRUSTS! NOT ONE! I have one HEAPING pie in my fridge right now and figured I'd let others know who might be making this for Thanksgiving that it will mix up enough for TWO normal 9 inch pies. If you are concerned, get 2 8 inch pies. I piled in as much as I could and still had like 2 or 3 scoops of each mix and the pie is like 2 1/2 inches above the crust! Lol! Tasted AWESOME from the tastes everyone snuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My mom first came across this recipe when I was little, either in a magazine or an insert in a graham cracker crust(it was so long ago that I can't remember which). It has become a Thanksgiving staple in my family. It's the ABSOLUTE BEST PUMPKIN PIE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States