Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was an incredibly simple recipe that tastes better than any store-bought pumpkin pie, so if you're thinking about buying a pie, just whip up this one. The purchased graham cracker pie crust didn't really do it for me, so I think the next time I will bake my own crust. I also had leftover pie filling and usually prefer not to have that happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made a recipe like this Many years ago, but the layers were the opposite; with the pumpkin on the bottom, you probably would not find it so hard to set. Also, your topping is already there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Overall a great recipe. I've found the following tweaks help it to set-up more firmly, more quickly. This solved any runniness for me. 1. To the cream cheese/whipped topping add 1 TBS chilled evaporated milk. 2. With the pudding/pumpkin, use 1 cup CHILLED evaporated milk in place of plain milk. 3. After pouring the cream cheese/whipped topping mixture into the crust, put in freezer while you make the pumpkin topping. 4. Thaw the whipped topping before using by putting in refrig overnight. This helps keep it firm without it being runny as can happen when thawing in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I don't think the recipe was very good. I let set for over 8hours and the pumpkin was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Everything about the pie was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
{12/2007:An update to my review: I have simplified this for me (and hopefully you!) I use half and half for the 1T and 1 Cup (instead of milk) AND, here's the kicker ...instead of having the three spices (cinnamon, ginger and cloves on hand) and the solid pumpkin...I use instead PUMPKIN PIE MIX and am done faster to boot! I was out of the size of pudding this recipe calls for and only had the larger vanilla pudding size (I think it's the six cup version...I used the whole version of that, and it turned out fabulous!!! This pie is so rich and creamy. YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!} I had this recipe before (from another source) and it got lost, so glad it was here to be found! This recipe is so user friendly...a no-bake pie..what could be easier! The flavors are so rich and distinct. Cheesecake meets pumpkin and they hit it off wonderfully. IF you like the layers to be very defined, I recommend putting the cream cheese layered part in the refridge right away and while you mix the pumpkin/top layer. This pie has even won over some in our family that weren't pumpkin pie fans to begin with! Yep, it's that yummy! Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving to YOU! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I love this pie, I make it every year for Thanksgiving, but I use fat free or sugar free butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla, and also low fat or fat free cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
the new improved pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I just made this and let me tell you I couldn't even put it together because I kept nibbling at it. Well it now together and setting in the fridge, but just from the filling alone I can tell this is going to be amazing!! If you love cheesecake and pumpkin pie this is a great combo!! Excellent recipe so far I will have to let you know about the finalized product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I had gotten this recipe from a Mom-like figure in my life, and I have loved it since! I use fat free products, and it still comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea LaVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States