Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This pie was great. And even better the day after... Take the pie out of the fridge before serving it. Best at room temperature. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I found this to be a nice change from the traditional pumpkin pie. However, I felt that the flavor of the cloves was almost too strong in the pumpkin layer and will omit this ingredient next time. I just don't think that the flavor of cloves is for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Launa B

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is always a hit - a perfect substitute for traditional pumpkin pie. I can't give it 5 stars, though, because the pumpkin layer tends to be runny and slides off of the cream cheese layer once the pie has been cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
For Thanksgiving I made this pie and we had a guest over that had never had dinner with us, he took one bite and told us that "it's no good". Of course where we are from that means don't touch it...the rest is mine. By accident I didn't get enough pudding mix. Instead of the big boxes mine were 1 oz. and I added some spices (ginger and pumpkin pie spice) to the white layer. It held firm and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have never made "homemade" pies before. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was DECADENT! The only thing I did differently was I used a chocolate cookie crumb crust. Everyone raved over it! Problem was, I had no leftovers to enjoy. Now I have to turn in and make another one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The taste was wonderful! My husband likes pumpkin pie, but he likes this even better. After trying it he asked me "You DO still have this recipe saved somewhere don't you?". I just put the bottom layer in the fridge while i made the top layer and then top it back out to put the top layer on. The bottom layer turned out fine, there was no bleeding of flavors. The bottom layer, however was more like a pudding and would not hold form. Thanks for posting the recipe! I will reduce the milk slightly and make it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I had printed out this recipe & my husband found this exact recipe in a cooking magazine I had and asked me to make it. The pumpkin topping was a bit runny. This pie got lost in all of the pies we made and wasn't the best. Thanks for letting me try something different for our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Update 11/19/11: Added 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans to my home made graham cracker crust..The crust was almost as good as the pie! Remember to only use 3/4 cup of milk (I use half and half or cream) or it will be too soupy. Update: 11/11/10 Made a sugar-free version. Used sf vanilla pudding, sf cool whip, and splenda for sugar. Added a couple of extra splenda packets to pumpkin mix. Got rave reviews! Tried again and this time only used 3/4 cup of half and half. Excellent results-not runny at all! Made my own pie crust though-used the recipe on the back of the Honey Maid Graham cracker crumbs box and used a smaller pie pan like an old Bakers Square tin. If you have left over pumpking filling, it can be served and eaten as a "pumpkin mousse". Five people asked me for the recipe and one said it was the best pumpkin pie she ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The recipe seems to make a lot of extra pie filling, but otherwise the recipe is fantastic! My whole family loved it. We changed a lot of the ingredients to low fat or low sugar for my mom who does Weight Watchers, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I don't even like pumpkin pie and this was the hit last year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States