Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love the recipe. I have it requested every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holyoke, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sanford, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was really, really sweet. I expected it to taste more like a traditional pumpkin pie, but it was more like a very sweet pumpkin and whipped cream pudding. I did refridgerate the bottom layer before adding the top layer and the layers stayed perfectly separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for our family Thanksgiving. I decided that instead of a traditional graham cracker crust I was going to use Snickerdoodles in a blender and add some additional spices. Everyone RAVED about the pie. SO simple I will definitely make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I make this pie every Thanksgiving and everyone loves it. I've never had to chill each layer separately for it to turn out delicious. The only thing I change is the cloves. I use nutmeg instead. Be sure to use a 9oz crust because the pie is thick and you get more slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is an amazing recipe! I am 14 years old and love cooking. This is easy for younger children to make and help make. My entire family enjoys this each thanksgiving and my aunts wishes I'd make it on Christmas too. It very simple to memorize, and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this for my family last night and it got rave reviews. It is so easy to make, and everyone thought I slaved over the stove. I will make this again and again, it was just delicious. I did chill before each layer, and had no problems with the layers staying separate. It looked as good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
For an even spicier festive flavor, try using the seasonal pumpkin spice pudding mix (and add a tsp of vanilla extract) instead of vanilla pudding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have been making this for the past 6 years. Every year I have to make more and more pies. I am up to 10 pies this year all for family. Thank goodness it's an easy no bake recipe. We LOVE LOVE LOVE this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is my family's favorite pumpkin pie recipe! I have made it for 10 years. My 2 teenage boys ask for it every holiday season. I can not bake anything, but this pie is so easy to make. It is a twist on the traditional baked pie. I only use 1/2 cup of milk on the pumpkin/pudding layer. I use allspice instead of the suggested spices (just add to your liking). Like other reviewers, I also recomend mixing the milk with the pudding first and then add in the pumpkin. I like the pie served cold out of the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I got this same recipe from my mother in law a few years ago. This is my kids' favorite pie. This recipe is exactly the same as the one from my mother in law except for one step. Instead of mixing the milk, pudding, pumpkin and spices together all at once my version calls for mixing the milk and pudding together first. Beat with wire wisk for 2 minutes. Then let it stand for 3 minutes. Now add the pumkin and spices, mixing well. I've never had a problem with my pie being runny as some other reviewers complained about. Changing this step may solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States