Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made the recipe exactly the way it was written. It turned out really good! 2nd time around I tweaked the recipe. First I doubled the recipe. I used sweat potatoe pie filling instead of pumpkin. By using sweat potatoe pie filling I didn't need to add the rest of the spices because it was already in there. Instead of boring old graham crackers for the crust I used a whole pack of sandies cookies ( shortbread) and crushed it then added half stick of butter and firmly pressed it on a 9x13 pan. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
i didn't enjoy it, thought it had a weird flavor to it. but some of my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sundman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving two years ago, I don't happen to care for it , HOWEVER everyone else that was there that night LOVED it and now request it 2-3x per year. It is easy, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemamaof1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My 17 year old son told me I was a pie making magician when he tasted this! Make sure you read some of the other modifications from other reviewers... I used 1 tbsp of chilled evaporated milk in addition to the 1 tbsp of half and half (instead of the called for milk) in the bottom layer to make it more solid. I also substituted half and half for the called for regular milk in the top pumpkin layer. Next time I'll probably use a little evaporated milk in the top layer, too, to make it a bit more dense. I also made my own graham cracker crust - which I think is much tastier than the store bought. This pie will be a new favorite at holiday dinners... we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana1975727

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
GET 2 PIE CRUSTS! NOT ONE! I have one HEAPING pie in my fridge right now and figured I'd let others know who might be making this for Thanksgiving that it will mix up enough for TWO normal 9 inch pies. If you are concerned, get 2 8 inch pies. I piled in as much as I could and still had like 2 or 3 scoops of each mix and the pie is like 2 1/2 inches above the crust! Lol! Tasted AWESOME from the tastes everyone snuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My mom first came across this recipe when I was little, either in a magazine or an insert in a graham cracker crust(it was so long ago that I can't remember which). It has become a Thanksgiving staple in my family. It's the ABSOLUTE BEST PUMPKIN PIE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Although I haven't tried this specific recipe, I have made ones which are identical or almost identical. I love it, but my husband hates pumpkin in any form. So instead of the pumpkin top, I use instant chocolate pudding using the instructions on the box for pie filling. He loves that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe is perfect the way it is. Just make sure you chill the crust and then chill each layer. My younger cousin has requested me to make this as her birthday cake as she loved it so much. HUGE hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kailad123

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I read all the reviews and there were alot of mixed reviews. I did all the things people said to do, to make the pie better. I froze the pie in between layers, used less milk, and after 8 hours in the fridge, the pumkin layer was still runny!! I don't know how you keep it from this, but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States