Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Excellent! Very tasty, not too filling! The only change I made was I used a NILLA pie crust because we are not big graham cracker crust fans - and we personally thought it was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made this pie for our family holidays because my daughter is allergic to eggs. It was a hit with her and my husband. I personally found the pumpkin layer to be a bit heavy and strong-tasting, but maybe this is because I am such a big fan of custard-style pumpkin pies. We also made the crust homemade with graham cracker crumbs which is sooooo easy and tastes soooo much better than store bought. All in all, for an egg-free dessert is was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Sooo good! I didn't pay attention to pie crust size, so my pan floweth over a bit. If I'd had a bigger pan, i could have had more of the cheesecake-y bottom than I did. I will def. use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I followed suggestion of freezing bottom layer before putting pumpkin on top. I had no problems with the recipe being runny, in fact it was very think, very hard to get it out of piepan. It was very rich. Didn't love it but thought it was a nice addition to our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This pie was very easy to make and very tasty! Make sure you soften cream cheese or you'll get lumps! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The cream cheese layer is great, the pumpkin layer not so much. I regret having made this for Thanksgiving without having tried it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was an incredibly simple recipe that tastes better than any store-bought pumpkin pie, so if you're thinking about buying a pie, just whip up this one. The purchased graham cracker pie crust didn't really do it for me, so I think the next time I will bake my own crust. I also had leftover pie filling and usually prefer not to have that happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made a recipe like this Many years ago, but the layers were the opposite; with the pumpkin on the bottom, you probably would not find it so hard to set. Also, your topping is already there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Overall a great recipe. I've found the following tweaks help it to set-up more firmly, more quickly. This solved any runniness for me. 1. To the cream cheese/whipped topping add 1 TBS chilled evaporated milk. 2. With the pudding/pumpkin, use 1 cup CHILLED evaporated milk in place of plain milk. 3. After pouring the cream cheese/whipped topping mixture into the crust, put in freezer while you make the pumpkin topping. 4. Thaw the whipped topping before using by putting in refrig overnight. This helps keep it firm without it being runny as can happen when thawing in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I don't think the recipe was very good. I let set for over 8hours and the pumpkin was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States