Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was a big hit over the holidays! I also made a few changes by combining some suggestions from previous reviews. first off, I made a gingersnap/shortbread cookie crust in a 10 inch springform pan. I used 3 packages of cream cheese and 1/2 cup of sour cream(as suggested in a previous review). After putting in the first layer I added almost a whole can of pumpkin puree and added more spices than the recipe called for and 1 tbsp of spiced rum suggested in a previous review. I cooked it in a water bath at 350 for one hour and it didn't crack at all. I served this with a homemade cinnamon whipped cream. Everyone loved this cheesecake and I will definitely be making it again!!! Thanks for the great recipe and for all the great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
According to my cookbook for this recipe, which has this recipe in it verbatim except for one problem, you are supposed to mix the 1/2 cup puree w/ the 1 cup of plain batter and set THAT aside. The remaining plain batter goes in the bottom, making the thicker layer the white layer. That takes care of people feeling the need to add more cream cheese mixture--it was just supposed to be mixed up differently to begin with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I pretty much followed this recipe exactly. Everyone loved it. I did make a minor change, I made mini cheesecakes instead of 1 big one. I took crushed graham crackers and butter and lined the bottom of cupcake liners and then followed the recipe as directed. I added some pumpkin pie spice for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristaJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My guests and I loved this. The only change I plan on making is to increase the plain cheesecake filling; it was barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairo Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great Recipe! I'm on Weight watchers, so I substituted Splenda for Sugar and Low-Fat Cream cheese for regular cream cheese. I baked it in a low-fat pre-made graham cracker crust. It is absolutely wonderful, and only has 5 points per serving! I will be making this again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I make this cheesecake every Thanksgiving and my husband raves about it to his friends. I do make a few changes to make it a little healthier but it comes out perfect every time. I use 1 package light cream cheese, 1 package fat free cream cheese, 1/2 cup splenda, 4 egg whites, and fat free cool whip. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I made this for a men's fellowship dinner this past weekend. Very good! I doubled the recipe (added a little more spice and pumpkin to boot) and made a thick Graham cracker crust in a 10" spring-form pan. I also decided to bake it in a water bath. Took 1 hour 15 min to bake but NICE! At the end, I added some allspice, cinn. and nutmeg to the whipped cream and dusted it w more allspice. Oh boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It was very yummy and didn't last 2 days at our house. I used Ivins Famous Spiced Wafers (classic philly ginger snaps) for the crust and it definitely increased the yum factor. I tend to like my cheesecake a little bit sweeter so i added a smidge more sugar, but if you like cheesecake the way its "supposed to be" (according to my mother) then as written is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe! Used 1/3 less fat Philly brand cream cheese. Still was a pretty filling. Took wife's advice and 'let it cool' in the oven for about 4 hours after turning it off. (I guess that's supposed to stop the top from cracking). Very tasty. Will do again in 4 weeks for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
just like mom made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States