Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was not overly impressed with this recipe. First, as other reviewers have stated, you need to add a lot more spices to have any flavor. I doubled the spices called for and still could have used more. Also, if you are making in your own 9" springform pan and not using a premade "tiny" crust from the store, you will need to double the recipe overall. I used double ingredients and still came out with a pretty thin cheesecake. For the bottom layer if you want a nice white layer to show, you'll need at least two cups of the pre-pumpkin / cheesecake only mix to start. I used Splenda instead of sugar and found the cake was hardly sweet at all. My parents liked this as they prefer non-sweet desserts, however I would have prefered it to be much sweeter. Overall it was an okay recipe, but nothing that the family will be begging me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
We made this because it sounded interesting and we love cheesecake. Everyone loved it! I added a pinch more of the spices, but pretty much just followed the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
In a word... perfect! Didn't change a thing (except using 1/3 less fat cream cheese). A big Thanksgiving Day hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was amazing, but I did add 4 more oz of cream cheese to make it more cheese-cake-like. WHEN I make this again, I think I'll do an entire 3. It was the perfect texture and had a great pumpkin pie flavor. I also used a chocolate crust instead of graham, but that's my preference of mixing chocolate and pumpkin. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Simple and quick, my family always requests this for Thanksgiving and when ever !!. Delicious when you use a cinnamon graham crack crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobleskill, New York, USA
Living In: Rockmart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Super fantastic and a huge hit at my work party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Unbelievable!!! I debated on which pumpkin cheesecake recipe to try, and this one will DEFINITELY be the one to keep. My family loved it! I ended up making a second one a few hours later to give to my sister because it was so good. It is SO easy to make, and once it chills for a few hours, it is DELICIOUS! Not too sweet, and just the right amount of pumpkin and spice, and cheesecake flavor. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I made it for friends and they raved about it!!! I did add more spice and pumpkin as some of the other recipes mentioned. I will also make my own crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I TRIPLED THIS RECIPE FOR OUR THANKSGIVING LUNCHEON TODAY. AND IT WAS A HUGE SUCCESS!!! I DID TWEAK IT CAUSE I'M A SWEET POTATO PERSON. I USED A 28 OZ CAN OF SWEET POTATO PIE FILLING INSTEAD. I ALSO ADDED A PINCH OF ALLSPICE. I ALSO FOLLOWED A REVIEWER AND SCOOPED OUT A CUP AND 1/2 OF THE CREAM CHEESE MIXTURE TO SPREAD IN THE BOTTOM OF THE CRUST. AND BECAUSE I WAS MAKING A SPICE CAKE THAT WANTED MY EGGS TO BE ROOM TEMP, I SAT MY EGGS FOR THIS OUT TOO, ALTHOUGH I DON'T KNOW IF IT HAD ANY EFFECT ON THE AWESOME OUTCOME OR NOT. I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY COPIES OF MY TWEAKED RECIPE I HAD TO HAND OUT TODAY! 5 AND COUNTING!! I WILL BE MAKING MANY MORE OF THESE NOW RENAMED "DOUBLE LAYER SWEET POTATO CHEESECAKE"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I thought there was going to be a fight at Thanksgiving last year because I only brought one of these! Making at least 2 this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikesarahfarley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States